Eleven Kilograms of Something Nobody Has Identified Yet, Five Times Heavier Than Every Drug on the Charge Sheet Combined: Calgary Police Charge Ryan Sinclair, 34, and Brigitte Peters-Palma, 34, Out of Two Overdose Deaths (Originally Reported September 14, 2026)
CALGARY — This file was published by the Calgary Police Service on Monday, September 14, 2026 at 2:58 p.m. Mountain and is not a story that broke today; the arrest was fourteen days earlier. The seizure inventory runs to eleven separate lines and the service put a dollar figure on nine of them. The largest item on it by weight carries no figure at all. Alongside 1,980.1 grams of cocaine, 569.7 grams of psilocybin and 207.7 grams of methamphetamine, investigators took 11 kilograms of an unknown powder, which has been submitted for analysis. That single unlabelled item is roughly five times the combined weight of every drug the service was able to name.
The investigation that produced it started with two deaths. The District 8 District Operations Team opened the file in June 2026 after information gathered during two overdose death investigations identified a suspected drug trafficker. The release does not say whether either death is now the subject of a separate charge, and no count on the charge sheet arises from them.
The Seizure, Line by Line
- $46,640 in Canadian currency and $180 in American currency.
- One rifle and two shotguns, with six magazines and 148 rounds of ammunition.
- 1,980.1 grams of cocaine — estimated street value $19,801.
- 569.7 grams of psilocybin — estimated street value $11,394.
- 207.7 grams of methamphetamine — estimated street value $4,154.
- 593 codeine pills — estimated street value $2,965.
- 127 Adderall pills — estimated street value $1,270.
- 49 tabs of LSD — estimated street value $490.
- Seven morphine pills — estimated street value $140.
- 6,200 contraband cigarettes — estimated street value $1,543.
- 11 kilograms of an unknown powder — no value, no identification, submitted for analysis.
- Drug trafficking paraphernalia including scales, packaging materials and a vacuum sealer; electronic devices and documents.
- Headline figure published by the service: “more than $88,000 worth of drugs and cash”, plus the firearms.
The Item With No Number Beside It
Every other line in that inventory has been weighed, counted and priced. The eleven kilograms has been weighed and nothing else. Until the analysis comes back it is not a drug in law, and that is why it does not appear in the charge sheet and does not appear in the $88,000 total. The service is not hiding it — it is published in the release in the same list as everything else — but the headline number readers will take away excludes the thing that might turn out to matter most about this file.
What it is will determine whether this is a mid-sized multi-drug trafficking case or something considerably larger. Eleven kilograms of a cutting agent is inventory management. Eleven kilograms of a controlled substance, or of a precursor, is a different file with a different set of questions attached to it. The Calgary Police Service does not speculate on which, and neither does this briefing. The point worth marking is that the release was published while the answer was still outstanding, and that the charges as laid cannot account for it.
The Accused and the Counts
Ryan Allan Sinclair, 34, is charged with ten counts of possession of a controlled substance for the purpose of trafficking, one count of fraud over $5,000, one count of possession of property obtained by crime, one count of careless storage of a firearm and one count of unsafe storage of ammunition — fourteen counts in total. He was remanded in custody.
Brigitte Conchita Peters-Palma, 34, is charged with four counts of possession of a controlled substance for the purpose of trafficking. She was seen removing items from the Auburn Bay residence while the search warrant was being executed and was arrested at the scene. The release does not say what she was carrying, does not say whether those items form part of the published seizure, and does not state her custody status.
Both were next scheduled to appear in court on Wednesday, September 16, 2026. The ten trafficking counts against Sinclair correspond in number to the ten named drug lines in the inventory, though the release does not draw that correspondence itself and the pairing is not asserted here. The fraud over $5,000 count is unexplained: the release gives no indication of what was defrauded, from whom, or how it connects to the drug allegations.
Three Long Guns and a Storage Charge
A rifle, two shotguns, six magazines and 148 rounds came out of the searches, and the firearms charges laid are careless storage of a firearm and unsafe storage of ammunition — storage offences, not possession or prohibition offences. Nothing in the release states that any of the three was restricted or prohibited, that any was loaded, that any was stolen, or that either accused was under a firearms prohibition. Nothing states that the guns were unlawfully held at all. On the face of the charges, what the service alleges about the firearms is how they were kept, not that they should not have been there.
District 8 Inspector Darry Midtdal is quoted: “This investigation removed a substantial quantity of illicit drugs from our community and disrupted drug trafficking activity. The seizure of firearms alongside these drugs highlights the serious public safety risks that can accompany the drug trade. We will continue working to remove dangerous substances from our streets and hold traffickers accountable.”
What Is Not Reported
The identity of the 11 kilograms, and when the analysis is expected. Whether either overdose death has produced or will produce a charge, and whether either victim has been named anywhere. The relationship, if any, between Sinclair and Peters-Palma. What Peters-Palma was removing from the house. The substance of the fraud over $5,000 count. The make, calibre or type of any of the three long guns, and whether any was loaded or restricted. Whether either accused holds a firearms licence. How the two addresses relate to one another. Whether anyone else was arrested, released without charge or remains under investigation. Whether any partner agency, provincial unit or federal agency took part — the release names only District 8 and its District Operations Team.
And no gang, street gang, criminal organization or outlaw motorcycle club has been named by the Calgary Police Service, by any outlet, or by anyone else in connection with this file. None is named or implied here. The presence of 6,200 contraband cigarettes in a drug seizure is the kind of detail that sometimes points toward a supply network rather than a single operation, but the service draws no such inference and neither does this briefing.
These allegations have not been tested in court.
Calgary — June 2026 to September 16, 2026
Primary Sources
- Calgary Police Service, via the City of Calgary Newsroom, “Drug trafficking investigation results in charges and the seizure of drugs, cash and firearms”, case CA26381292/5842, published Monday, September 14, 2026 at 2:58 p.m. Mountain. Source for the June 2026 opening of the investigation by the District 8 District Operations Team following two overdose death investigations, the August 31, 2026 arrest and search warrants, the 200 block of Autumn Green S.E. and 14400 block of Mount McKenzie Drive S.E. addresses, the arrest of a woman seen removing items during the warrant execution, every line of the seizure inventory including the 11 kilograms of unknown powder submitted for analysis, the full charge lists for Ryan Allan Sinclair, 34, and Brigitte Conchita Peters-Palma, 34, Sinclair’s remand, the September 16, 2026 court date, the “more than $88,000 worth of drugs and cash” headline figure, and the quotation from District 8 Inspector Darry Midtdal, which is reproduced verbatim.
- No independent outlet coverage of this release was located. Where the release is the only source for a fact, it is the only source cited.
- The observation that the 11 kilograms of unknown powder is roughly five times the combined weight of the named drugs is this briefing’s arithmetic from the published weights (1,980.1 g + 569.7 g + 207.7 g = 2,757.5 g of weighed drugs, against 11,000 g of unidentified powder). The service publishes no such comparison, and the pills, tabs and cigarettes are counted rather than weighed and are not included in that calculation.
- The observation that Sinclair’s ten trafficking counts correspond in number to the ten named drug lines in the inventory is noted as an observation only. The release does not pair the counts to specific substances, and no pairing is asserted here.
- The characterisation of the firearms charges as storage offences rather than possession or prohibition offences is drawn from the charge names published by the service. The release does not state that any firearm was restricted, prohibited, loaded, stolen or unlawfully possessed, and nothing to that effect is asserted here.
- No gang, street gang, criminal organization or outlaw motorcycle club has been named by anyone in connection with this file. None is named or implied here, and no profile page on this site is linked, because no organization covered by one has been named by police in this file.
- These allegations have not been tested in court. This briefing should be updated when the analysis of the 11 kilograms is reported, if further charges are laid, or if the Calgary Police Service publishes anything connecting this file to the two overdose deaths that began it.