Three Men, One Surname, Thirty-Three Years Between the Youngest and the Oldest: York Regional Police Take a Semi-Automatic Rifle and $25,000 in Cocaine Out of a Newmarket House and Publish Not a Single Weight (September 15, 2026)
NEWMARKET, Ont. — Ten days after somebody told York Regional Police that a person was selling controlled substances in Newmarket, investigators walked into a house in the town and walked out with a high-powered semi-automatic rifle, two loaded magazines, an unstated quantity of Canadian currency, and enough suspected cocaine to be valued at twenty-five thousand dollars. Three men were charged. All three are named Adamo, all three are of Newmarket, and they are twenty-six, thirty-four and fifty-nine years old. The release does not say how they are connected to each other, and that is the first of several things it does not say.
It also does not say how much cocaine there was. The figure that appears is a street value, not a weight, which is a distinction worth holding on to: a dollar estimate is an investigative judgment about resale, while a weight is a measurement. Twenty-five thousand dollars is the number York Regional Police chose to publish. Grams, ounces and kilograms do not appear anywhere in the release.
The Seizure and the Charge Sheet
- The investigation: began early September 2026, after information was received that an individual was trafficking controlled substances in the Newmarket area.
- The unit: York Regional Police #1 District Criminal Investigations Bureau.
- The warrant: executed September 12, 2026 at a Newmarket residence. No address is released.
- Seized: a high-powered, semi-automatic rifle; two loaded magazines; Canadian currency, amount not specified; and a quantity of a controlled substance believed to be cocaine, with an approximate street value of $25,000.
- Charged: Antonio Adamo, 34, of Newmarket; Robertino Adamo, 59, of Newmarket; Julian Adamo, 26, of Newmarket.
- Antonio Adamo only: Trafficking in Controlled Substances; Possession of Proceeds of Crime.
- The remaining charges, listed without attribution to any individual: Possession for the Purpose of Trafficking; Unauthorized Possession of a Firearm; Careless Storage of a Firearm; Possession of a Weapon for a Dangerous Purpose; Careless Storage of Ammunition.
- Case number: 26-313394. Media release officer: Constable Kevin Nebrija.
- Not published: the address; the weight of the cocaine; the amount of currency; the make, calibre or capacity of the rifle; the number of counts against each accused; whether any accused was already prohibited from possessing a firearm; bail status; court dates; the relationship between the three men; and any organization.
Two Loaded Magazines
The inventory reads quietly and is not. A high-powered semi-automatic rifle is one thing; a high-powered semi-automatic rifle stored with two loaded magazines is another, and York Regional Police itemised the magazines separately and specified that they were loaded. That is the detail that produces careless storage of a firearm and careless storage of ammunition as distinct charges — the gun and the ammunition each attracting their own count.
The force does not describe the rifle beyond “high-powered” and “semi-automatic.” It does not give a calibre, a make, a magazine capacity, or a classification. It does not say whether the rifle was restricted, non-restricted or prohibited, whether anyone in the house held a firearms licence, or whether the weapon was traced or reported stolen. Unauthorized possession of a firearm implies no valid authorization at the time; the release goes no further than the charge itself.
Only One of the Three Is Accused of Selling Anything
The charge list separates cleanly, and the separation is the most informative thing in the release. Trafficking in controlled substances and possession of proceeds of crime are marked “Antonio only.” Everything else — the possession for the purpose, and all four weapons and ammunition counts — is listed without being assigned to anyone.
That construction leaves two facts visible and one question open. The visible facts: York Regional Police alleges an actual sale or supply against one man out of three, and attaches the seized cash to that same man alone. The open question is how the remaining charges are distributed — whether all three face all five, or whether the force has simply pooled them. The release does not number the counts against any accused, which is a recurring gap in York Region charge sheets and is noted here rather than guessed at.
Ten Days, and Three More to the Release
The information came in during the first days of September. The warrant went in on September 12. The release came out on September 15. Those intervals — roughly ten days from tip to door, three days from door to publication — are this briefing’s arithmetic and are not published by the force.
Ten days is quick for a drug file that ends in a residential search warrant. It suggests the information was specific enough to be acted on without a long period of corroboration, though the release says nothing about what investigators did in between, whether there was surveillance, whether there were controlled purchases, or whether any other address was searched. Nothing about a second warrant, a vehicle, or another location appears.
What Is Not Reported, and What Is Not Alleged
No address. No weight for the suspected cocaine, and no statement of how the $25,000 street value was calculated. No amount for the Canadian currency, and no statement of whether it was found with the drugs. No description of the rifle beyond “high-powered” and “semi-automatic.” No count of rounds in the two magazines. No other firearms, no other drugs, no scales, no packaging, no phones and no debt list in the inventory. No number of counts against any of the three accused. No bail status and no court date. No statement about whether any accused was already under a firearms prohibition, a probation order or a release order. No named detective beyond the media release officer.
And this is the point on which this briefing is most careful: York Regional Police has named no criminal organization, no mafia, no street gang and no outlaw motorcycle club in connection with this file. Three men sharing a surname and an address is a fact about a household. It is not a finding about an organization, and no such label is applied here, by implication or otherwise. No profile page on this site is linked, because no organization covered by one has been named by police.
These are allegations. None of the charges against Antonio Adamo, Robertino Adamo or Julian Adamo has been tested in court, and all three are presumed innocent.
Newmarket — Early September to September 15, 2026
Primary Sources
- York Regional Police, “Three Men Charged Following Drug Investigation in Newmarket”, media release, published September 15, 2026, Case / Reference Number 26-313394, #1 District, Newmarket, York Region; media release officer Constable Kevin Nebrija. Source for the early-September start of the investigation, the information that an individual was trafficking controlled substances in the Newmarket area, the September 12, 2026 search warrant at a Newmarket residence, the seizure of a high-powered semi-automatic rifle, two loaded magazines, Canadian currency and a quantity believed to be cocaine with an approximate street value of $25,000, the identification of Antonio Adamo, 34, Robertino Adamo, 59, and Julian Adamo, 26, all of Newmarket, and every charge listed above including the notation that trafficking in controlled substances and possession of proceeds of crime are against Antonio only.
- York Regional Police categorises the file under Drug Possession, Drug Trafficking and Weapons Offences. It does not categorise it as organized crime and does not name any organization.
- The intervals of roughly ten days from the information to the warrant and three days from the warrant to publication are this briefing’s arithmetic. York Regional Police publishes no elapsed figures.
- The observation that a street value is an investigative estimate rather than a measured weight is this briefing’s characterisation of the distinction, offered because no weight appears in the release.
- The note that the release does not attribute the remaining five charges to particular accused reflects the structure of the published charge list, which marks only two charges “Antonio only” and leaves the rest unassigned. No assumption is made here about how they are distributed.
- No criminal organization, mafia, street gang or outlaw motorcycle club has been named by York Regional Police or by any outlet in connection with this file. None is named or implied here. The shared surname of the three accused is not treated as evidence of any organization, and no profile page on this site is linked, because no organization covered by one has been named by police.
- All charges are allegations that have not been tested in court. This briefing should be updated when bail status, counts per accused, a drug weight or a court date reaches the public record.