Gangland Files · Daily Briefing

The Eleven Counts Laid on the Fourteen-Year-Old Are Word for Word the Eleven Laid on the Thirty-One-Year-Old, and Both Were Already in Court the Day Before Anybody Was Told: Regina Police Publish Two Loaded Prohibited Firearms and Describe Neither (September 29, 2026)

Regina Police Service news release, Tuesday, September 29, 2026 · no time published · no file or occurrence number published
2Loaded firearms seized
11 + 11Identical counts, each accused
14Age of the second accused
Sept 28Court date, day before release

The Regina Police Service says officers responded in the 4400 block of 4th Avenue at approximately 1:50 p.m. on Saturday, September 26, 2026, and made arrests in a nearby residential neighbourhood with the assistance of a police service dog. Two loaded firearms were seized. Sean Cronan, 31, and a 14-year-old male who cannot be named under the Youth Criminal Justice Act are each charged with eleven offences, and the two lists are word-for-word identical: nothing in the release distinguishes what the man is alleged to have done from what the boy is alleged to have done. Both had already appeared in court — Cronan in Regina Provincial Court, the youth in Regina Provincial Youth Court, both on September 28, 2026 — a day before the release announcing the charges was published. Neither firearm is described in any way. The release is headed as a stolen auto investigation and contains no description of a vehicle.

The charges, with the sections as published

Each accused faces one count of possession of property obtained by crime over $5,000 under section 355(a) of the Criminal Code, two counts of careless storage of a firearm under section 86(2), two counts of carrying a concealed weapon under section 90, two counts of unauthorized possession of a firearm under section 91(1), two counts of possession of a loaded prohibited or restricted firearm under section 95(1), and two counts of unauthorized possession of a prohibited device or ammunition in a motor vehicle under section 94(1)(a)(ii). That is eleven counts each and twenty-two in total.

The pattern of doubling is the clearest thing in the document: every firearm count is laid twice, once for each of the two guns, against each of the two people. That is the construction police use when both accused are alleged to have had access to both weapons rather than one each, and the section 94 counts place the weapons in a motor vehicle. The release does not say which vehicle, or whether it is the same vehicle the property-obtained-by-crime count refers to. It does not say so, and it is not assumed here.

Two loaded prohibited or restricted firearms, unphotographed and undescribed

The section 95(1) counts establish what the guns were: prohibited or restricted, and loaded. Beyond that the release publishes nothing at all. No make, no model, no type, no calibre, no statement of which of the two were prohibited and which restricted, no round count, no magazine, no serial-number status, no indication of whether either was stolen or traced. Two loaded handguns coming out of a car in a residential neighbourhood on a Saturday afternoon is the substance of the file, and the force has published less about those two objects than most services publish about a seized knife.

The stolen auto heading has the same problem. No vehicle is described, no make, model, year or colour appears, nothing says when or from where it was taken, whether it was recovered, or what established it as stolen. What the property-obtained-by-crime count over $5,000 attaches to is not stated, and while a vehicle is the obvious candidate the release never says so.

The fourteen-year-old

One of the two accused is fourteen. The Youth Criminal Justice Act bars publishing his identity and this briefing does not attempt to circumvent that in any way, but the Act does not bar the force from saying anything about the circumstances, and the force has said nothing. Whether he was in the vehicle, whether he was arrested with Cronan or separately, whether the two are known to each other, and what if anything distinguishes his alleged conduct from Cronan’s are all unpublished. The eleven counts against him are the same eleven counts, in the same order, laid against a man more than twice his age.

Custody status is not published for either. Cronan’s municipality of residence is not published, which is unusual on a Regina Police Service release and means nothing establishes whether he is from the city. Nothing is published about bail, release conditions, or the outcome of either September 28 appearance.

Absent from the release

  • Both firearms: no make, model, type or calibre; no statement of which was prohibited and which restricted; no round count, magazine detail or serial-number status.
  • The vehicle: nothing. The release is headed a stolen auto investigation and describes no vehicle, no theft date, no owner and no recovery.
  • What the over-$5,000 count attaches to: not stated.
  • Who did what: two identical eleven-count sheets, with nothing distinguishing the 31-year-old’s alleged conduct from the 14-year-old’s.
  • Cronan’s municipality: not published.
  • Custody status: not published for either accused.
  • The court appearances: both dated September 28, 2026, with no outcome, no bail result and no next date published.
  • The response: what brought officers to the 4400 block of 4th Avenue, how the arrests came about in a nearby residential neighbourhood, and how far “nearby” is — all unpublished.
  • Paperwork: no file or occurrence number, no time of publication on the release, no unit beyond the canine assistance, no named officer and no quotation.
  • The three-day interval: the September 26 arrests were announced on September 29, one day after both accused had already been in court.

Timeline

  • September 26, 2026 — approx. 1:50 p.m. · 4400 block of 4th Avenue, ReginaRegina Police Service officers respond. What brought them is not published.
  • September 26, 2026 — nearby residential neighbourhoodTwo arrests are made with the assistance of a police service dog. Two loaded firearms are seized. Neither is described.
  • September 28, 2026 — Regina Provincial Court and Regina Provincial Youth CourtSean Cronan, 31, appears in Provincial Court and the 14-year-old in Youth Court, each facing the same eleven counts. No outcome is published for either appearance.
  • September 29, 2026 — time unpublishedThe Regina Police Service publishes the file under the headline “Two Charged Following Stolen Auto Investigation,” one day after both accused have already been before a judge. No file number accompanies it.
Regina Police Service
Laid all twenty-two counts and published the release. No investigative unit is credited, no officer is named, and no quotation appears.
Regina Police Service Canine Unit
A police service dog is credited with assisting the arrests. No handler is named.

Sources

  • “Two Charged Following Stolen Auto Investigation,” Regina Police Service, September 29, 2026 — the September 26 response in the 4400 block of 4th Avenue at approximately 1:50 p.m., the arrests in a nearby residential neighbourhood with police service dog assistance, the seizure of two loaded firearms, Sean Cronan’s name and age, the 14-year-old’s age, the identical eleven-count charge sheets with Criminal Code sections, and the September 28, 2026 appearances in Regina Provincial Court and Regina Provincial Youth Court — reginapolice.ca

This file sits on this beat for one reason: two of the counts against each accused are possession of a loaded prohibited or restricted firearm under section 95(1) of the Criminal Code, and two loaded firearms were seized. No wider significance is claimed for it. No investigation, project or anti-gang unit is named in the release; no criminal organization, street gang or outlaw motorcycle club is named, and none is implied here. The 14-year-old accused cannot be identified under the Youth Criminal Justice Act and nothing published here identifies or tends to identify him. Every allegation is the Crown’s and the police’s; neither eleven-count sheet has been tested in court, and both accused are presumed innocent.


Share This Story
Facebook X Email
← Previous BriefingFifteen of the Thirty-Two Counts Are for Breaching Orders He Was Already Under, and the Only Firearm Published Is a Sawed-Off Shotgun With Its Serial Number Filed Off: Calgary Police Charge Logan Donald Smith, 29, Thirteen Days After the Arrest (September 29, 2026)

Get the briefing before anyone else

Canadian organized crime, every day — arrests, takedowns, court files and the networks behind them. Free, straight to your inbox.

Trending

Discover more from Gangland Files

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading