Gangland Files · Daily Briefing

Six Years and Three Months, and Not One Other Outlet Has the Story: Vincent Benoit Is Sentenced Over the Daily Drug Deliveries in Boucherville and Longueuil, and the Man Called the Organization’s Other Leader Is in a Mexican Cell Awaiting Extradition (September 29, 2026)

First reported Tuesday, September 29, 2026 at 5:09 p.m. Eastern by Yvon Moreau, FM 103,3, Longueuil · no SPAL news release located · no other outlet has published a version
6 yrs 3 moSentence reported
June 2025Surveillance began
2016Year of the firearms prohibition
1Outlets carrying the file

A man has been sentenced to six years and three months in prison over a drug distribution operation on Montreal’s South Shore, and the entire published record of it is four paragraphs on the website of a Longueuil community radio station. Vincent Benoit, whom FM 103,3 describes as a trusted operative of the organization, is reported to have handled the daily distribution of drugs sold in Boucherville, Longueuil and surrounding municipalities, and to have had firearms in his possession despite a court prohibition issued in 2016. Officers of the Service de police de l’agglomération de Longueuil began watching him in June 2025, suspecting he was the link responsible for deliveries between suppliers and customers. A second man, Maxime Favreau, is described by the station as also a leader of the criminal organization, said to be living in Mexico, in the hands of the authorities there, and awaiting extradition to appear in the region in the coming weeks. No police force has published a word of this, and no other outlet has published a version of it.

What the sentence is, and what nobody has said about how it was arrived at

The station’s wording is that Benoit “écope d’une peine de six ans et trois mois de prison” — he receives a sentence of six years and three months in prison. That is the whole of the legal information in the report, and it is a sentence without a route to it. The report does not say whether Benoit pleaded guilty or was convicted at trial. It does not name the court that sentenced him, the judge, or the date of the hearing. It does not state a single charge in any wording, which means that the offences the six years and three months were imposed for are not on the public record at all, and nothing establishes whether any criminal-organization count was among them despite the organization framing running through the report.

His age is not given. Neither is Favreau’s. Where Benoit will serve the sentence, whether credit for time served was applied, and whether any firearms prohibition, forfeiture or ancillary order was imposed are all unpublished. This briefing states the stage as the report states it: Benoit has been sentenced. By what path is unknown, and no attempt is made here to supply one.

The operation, and the thing that is not in the inventory

What the report does describe is the shape of the alleged role. The investigation is said to have established that in addition to reselling drugs, Benoit was responsible for the daily distribution of the drugs sold in Boucherville, Longueuil and the surrounding municipalities — a delivery function between suppliers at one end and customers at the other, which is what SPAL is said to have suspected when it began surveillance in June 2025.

There is no seizure inventory. Not a gram, not a pill, not a dollar, not a vehicle, not an address. On a file that produced a six-year sentence and that a police service watched for at least fifteen months, the quantity of drugs moved does not appear anywhere in the public record, and neither does the number of arrests, the number of accused, or the existence or absence of a project name. The firearms are mentioned only as a fact about Benoit — that he had them despite the 2016 prohibition — with no count, type, make, calibre or statement of whether any was recovered.

Favreau has been wanted for four years

The one piece of this story with any published history is the second man. On February 10, 2023, Le Courrier du sud reported that SPAL was still looking for Maxime Favreau, then 29 years old, on an arrest warrant issued on August 2 and sought since September 7, on charges of drug trafficking, possession of drugs for the purpose of trafficking and firearm possession. That report gives no year for either the warrant or the start of the search, names no SPAL officer, names no project, and does not mention Vincent Benoit anywhere. It closes by noting information suggesting Favreau could be in Mexico.

Three years and seven months later, the country in that 2023 paragraph is where the station now places him, in custody and awaiting extradition. That is the only corroboration of any kind available on this file, and it corroborates a location rather than a charge. Whether the charges he was wanted on in 2023 are the charges he will face on return, whether the extradition is sought by Quebec or granted by Mexico, which authority holds him, on what date he was detained, and what “in the coming weeks” rests on are all unpublished. The characterisation of Favreau as a leader of a criminal organization is the station’s. No police force has attached that description to him in any document located, and no organization is named by anyone.

Absent from the record

  • The legal stage beneath the sentence: whether Benoit pleaded guilty or was convicted at trial is not stated.
  • The charges: not one count is published in any wording, for either man’s current proceedings.
  • The court: no courthouse, no judge, no hearing date, no docket or file number.
  • Ages: neither Benoit’s nor Favreau’s is given in the 2026 report. Favreau’s age of 29 comes from a February 2023 account.
  • The seizure inventory: no drug quantity, type, purity or value; no cash; no vehicles; no addresses; no count of searches.
  • The firearms: no number, type, make or calibre, and no statement that any was recovered.
  • The 2016 prohibition: what it arose from, what it covered and how long it ran are not published.
  • The operation: no project or operation name, no number of arrests, no number of accused beyond these two, no end date for the surveillance.
  • A police document: no SPAL news release on this file could be located, and no officer is named or quoted anywhere.
  • The organization: not named by anyone. The existence of an organization, and the description of both men as holding positions in it, rests entirely on the station’s wording.
  • Favreau’s custody: no detention date, no holding authority named, no confirmation of which state is seeking him or on what charges.

Timeline

  • 2016 — date unpublishedA court prohibition is issued against Vincent Benoit. The station reports he later had firearms despite it. Nothing is published about what the order arose from or what it covered.
  • August 2 — year not stated in the sourceAn arrest warrant issues for Maxime Favreau, per Le Courrier du sud, February 10, 2023. The report gives no year for the warrant.
  • September 7 — year not stated in the sourceSPAL begins looking for Favreau, per the same 2023 report, which again gives no year.
  • February 10, 2023 — 1:03 p.m.Le Courrier du sud reports SPAL is still searching for Favreau, then 29, on charges of drug trafficking, possession for the purpose of trafficking and firearm possession, and that information suggests he could be in Mexico. Benoit is not mentioned.
  • June 2025 — Longueuil agglomerationSPAL officers begin surveillance of Benoit, suspecting he is the link responsible for drug deliveries between suppliers and customers.
  • Date unpublished — court unnamedBenoit is sentenced to six years and three months in prison. No hearing date, court or route to the sentence is published.
  • September 29, 2026 — 5:09 p.m. EasternFM 103,3 publishes the sentence, the distribution role, the 2016 prohibition and Favreau’s reported detention in Mexico. As at the filing of this briefing no other outlet has carried any version of it and no police release has been located.
Service de police de l’agglomération de Longueuil
Credited with the surveillance from June 2025. Has published no located release on the file; its own website could not be reached at the time of filing, returning a robots.txt retrieval failure rather than a refusal.
Sûreté du Québec
Newsroom checked. Carries nothing on this file; its most recent release at the time of filing is dated September 26, 2026.
SPVM
Newsroom checked. Carries nothing on this file; its most recent release at the time of filing is dated September 28, 2026 and is unrelated.

Sources

  • “Gain majeur du SPAL dans la lutte aux stupéfiants sur la Rive-Sud,” Yvon Moreau, FM 103,3, September 29, 2026, 5:09 p.m. Eastern — the six-year-three-month sentence, the description of Benoit as a trusted operative of the organization, the daily distribution role across Boucherville, Longueuil and surrounding municipalities, the June 2025 start of SPAL surveillance, the firearms held despite the 2016 court prohibition, and the account of Maxime Favreau in Mexican custody awaiting extradition — fm1033.ca
  • “Trafic de stupéfiants: le SPAL cherche toujours Maxime Favreau,” Le Courrier du sud, February 10, 2023, 1:03 p.m. — Favreau’s age of 29, the August 2 arrest warrant and September 7 start of the search with no years stated, the three charges he was wanted on, and the information placing him in Mexico — lecourrierdusud.ca
  • Sûreté du Québec communiqués, checked September 30, 2026 — consulted for any release on this file; none found — sq.gouv.qc.ca
  • SPVM communiqués, checked September 30, 2026 — consulted for any release on this file; none found — spvm.qc.ca

This briefing is built on a single outlet account, and that is stated rather than worked around: no news release from the Service de police de l’agglomération de Longueuil or any other force has been located on this file, and no second outlet has published a version of it. Everything attributed to the investigation, including the existence of an organization and the description of Vincent Benoit as a trusted operative and Maxime Favreau as a leader of it, is FM 103,3’s characterisation and not a police force’s. No criminal organization is named by anyone, and no mafia clan, street gang or outlaw motorcycle club is named here or implied. Benoit is reported as sentenced; whether by plea or by verdict is not published, and no charge underlying the sentence is on the public record. Maxime Favreau has not been convicted of anything in the record located, faces charges that have not been tested in court, and is presumed innocent.


Share This Story
Facebook X Email
← Previous BriefingThe Release Existed After All and It Was Filed Under Federal Policing Eastern Region: the RCMP Document on Project Chrome Names Its Own Money Laundering Team, Dates the Searches to March 2024, and Still Will Not Name the Organization (September 29, 2026)Next Briefing →Fifteen of the Thirty-Two Counts Are for Breaching Orders He Was Already Under, and the Only Firearm Published Is a Sawed-Off Shotgun With Its Serial Number Filed Off: Calgary Police Charge Logan Donald Smith, 29, Thirteen Days After the Arrest (September 29, 2026)

Get the briefing before anyone else

Canadian organized crime, every day — arrests, takedowns, court files and the networks behind them. Free, straight to your inbox.

Trending

Discover more from Gangland Files

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading