Four Counts of Discharging a Firearm for the Four People Sitting in One Car, and One of Them Was Five Years Old: Manitoba RCMP Charge Morgan Blair, 34, and Tara Kreshewski, 44, One Hundred and Twenty-Four Days After the Shots on Ralls Island Road (September 28, 2026)
At about 10 p.m. on Wednesday, May 27, 2026, four people were sitting in a vehicle in the 300-block of Ralls Island Road in The Pas, Manitoba. One of them was five years old. A group of people the Manitoba RCMP describe only as all wearing hoodies walked up to the car and opened fire. A 34-year-old man was hit several times, went to hospital in critical condition and has since recovered; a second occupant was slightly hurt; the remaining two, the child among them, were not hit. Four months and two days later, on Monday, September 28, 2026, the force published the charges. Morgan Blair, 34, faces four counts of discharging a firearm with intent to wound, one count of attempted robbery with a firearm, and two firearms-possession counts, one of which alleges he was already barred by a court order from having a gun at all. Tara Kreshewski, 44, of The Pas faces one count: attempted robbery with a firearm. The Manitoba Integrated Law Enforcement Team, which took the file over on June 1, has concluded that the shooting is related to the local drug trade in The Pas. No criminal organization has been named by anyone.
The counts follow the seats, not the wounds
Two people in that car were shot. Blair is charged with four counts of discharging a firearm with intent to wound. The arithmetic points at the occupants rather than the injuries: a count for every person inside the vehicle, including the two who were not struck and including the five-year-old. That is a defensible way to lay a charge — a bullet fired into an occupied car is fired at everyone in it — but the release does not explain the count structure, and nothing in it confirms that reading. It simply publishes four.
What is not laid is the more serious charge. A man was shot multiple times and left in critical condition by people who walked up to a stopped car and fired into it, and nobody is charged with attempted murder. Discharging a firearm with intent to wound is the count the force has gone with. The release offers no reason.
The word that reframes the file
Kreshewski’s single count is attempted robbery with a firearm, and Blair carries the same count alongside his. That word — robbery — is the load-bearing one in this release, and it sits uneasily beside the sentence about the local drug trade. A shooting attributed to the drug trade suggests a conflict between parties to it. An attempted robbery with a firearm suggests somebody was trying to take something. Both descriptions are in the same release, neither is reconciled with the other, and the release does not say what was being taken, from whom, or whether anything was.
Nor does it say how Kreshewski is alleged to have participated. She faces the robbery count and nothing else — no firearms count, no discharging count. Whatever role the evidence puts her in, it is not one the force has described.
He was arrested inside a jail
Blair was arrested at the Brandon Correctional Centre. That is roughly six hundred kilometres south of The Pas and it means he was already in custody when the charges landed, on something the release does not identify. It does not say when he was arrested, what he was already being held for, or whether that matter is connected to this one. The same silence covers Kreshewski: no arrest date, no arrest location, no account of how either came to be identified.
Both are described as remaining in custody. Neither has a published court date.
A group, and two names
The release says a group of suspects approached the vehicle. It charges two people, and only one of them with firing. The force says further charges are anticipated, which is an acknowledgement that the group has not been accounted for. How many people were in it, whether any of the others have been identified, and whether any remain at large are all unpublished. No suspect description beyond hoodies has ever been issued on this file.
Five days, then four months
The Manitoba Integrated Law Enforcement Team assumed the investigation on June 1, five days after the shooting. That is fast, and it is the clearest signal in the release about how the file was read early: a provincial integrated unit does not take over a local shooting that investigators believe is self-contained. Then one hundred and twenty-four days passed between the gunfire and the publication of any charge. Nothing in the release accounts for the interval, and nothing published between May 27 and September 28 told the public that a five-year-old had been in a car that was shot at.
Absent from the record
- Any firearm: no weapon is described and none is reported recovered.
- Arrest dates and places: not published for either accused. Blair was taken at the Brandon Correctional Centre; why he was already there is not stated.
- The size of the group: the release says a group of suspects. Two people are charged. Further charges are anticipated; no number, no outstanding-suspect statement.
- The robbery: what was allegedly being taken, from whom, and whether anything was taken. Kreshewski’s alleged role is not described at all.
- The drug-trade connection: asserted as a conclusion. No substance, quantity, transaction, organization or named party is attached to it.
- The victims: nobody is named. No relationship between the occupants is given, and no explanation of why the child was in the car at 10 p.m.
- The prohibition order: one count alleges Blair was barred from possessing a firearm. What that order arose from is not stated.
- Paperwork: no file or occurrence number, no court dates, no named officer, no quotation, no tip line.
- Named organizations: none. No street gang, criminal organization or outlaw motorcycle club appears anywhere in the release.
Timeline
- May 27, 2026 — approximately 10 p.m. · 300-block Ralls Island Road, The PasRCMP respond to reports of gunshots. Four people are in a vehicle, one of them five years old. A group of suspects, all wearing hoodies, approach and open fire. A 34-year-old man is struck multiple times and is critical; a second occupant has minor injuries; two, including the child, are unhurt.
- June 1, 2026 — five days laterThe Manitoba Integrated Law Enforcement Team takes over the investigation.
- Between June and September 2026Investigators determine the shooting is related to the local drug trade in The Pas. The 34-year-old man recovers from his injuries.
- Date unpublished · Brandon Correctional CentreMorgan Blair, 34, is arrested. The release does not say when, or what he was already in custody for.
- September 28, 2026 · Manitoba RCMPCharges published. Blair: four counts of discharging a firearm with intent to wound, attempted robbery with a firearm, possessing a firearm contrary to a prohibition order, possessing a firearm knowing its possession is unauthorized. Tara Kreshewski, 44, of The Pas: attempted robbery with a firearm. Both in custody. Further charges anticipated.
Took over the investigation on June 1, 2026. Determined the shooting is related to the local drug trade in The Pas. No officer of the unit is named or quoted in the release.
First response on May 27, 2026 to reports of gunshots on Ralls Island Road.
Where Morgan Blair was arrested. The release does not say what he was already being held on.
Sources
- “Two people charged in May 2026 shooting in The Pas,” Manitoba RCMP, September 28, 2026 — the May 27 shooting, the four occupants and the five-year-old, the hooded group, the injuries, the June 1 transfer to the Manitoba Integrated Law Enforcement Team, the local-drug-trade finding, both charge lists, the Brandon Correctional Centre arrest, custody status and anticipated further charges — rcmp.ca
- “Two people charged in May 2026 shooting in The Pas,” Thompson Online, September 28, 2026 — carries the release — thompsononline.ca
- “2 charged after vehicle with child inside shot in The Pas, injuring 2 adults,” CBC Manitoba, September 28, 2026 — same-day coverage — cbc.ca
This briefing is built on the Manitoba RCMP release of September 28, 2026. The assertion that the shooting is related to the local drug trade in The Pas is the force’s own and is reported here as such; no substance, transaction, quantity or party has been published to support it, and no criminal organization, street gang or outlaw motorcycle club is named by police or by any outlet on this file. No firearm is described and none is reported recovered. Neither accused has entered a plea, neither charge has been tested in court, and both Morgan Blair and Tara Kreshewski are presumed innocent.