Homicide Arrest — Toronto

Three Days After the Shots, the Arrest, and the Person Charged Cannot Be Named Either: Toronto Police Charge a Male Youth With Murder in the Death of Cashie Auguste, 17, at Jane and Finch (September 17, 2026)

By: Gangland Files  |  Update Published Thursday, September 17, 2026 at 7:09 a.m. Eastern  |  Shooting Monday, September 14, 2026 at Approximately 3:34 p.m.  |  Jane Street and Finch Avenue West  |  North York, Toronto, Ontario  |  Case #2026-1936774
3Days From Shooting to Arrest
1Youth Charged With Murder
17Age of the Victim
0Words on Motive

TORONTO — Somebody is in custody. At 7:09 on Thursday morning the Toronto Police Service appended one line to the homicide file it opened on Tuesday: a male youth has been arrested and charged with murder in the death of Cashie Auguste, 17, shot in daylight at Jane Street and Finch Avenue West on Monday afternoon. Under the Youth Criminal Justice Act the accused cannot be identified, which produces the particular shape of this file — a seventeen-year-old who is named because he is dead, and a teenager who is not named because he is charged. TorontoToday reports the accused as sixteen years old and from Toronto.

This briefing covers the arrest. The shooting itself, and the near-total silence of the original homicide release, were covered when the name came out: Seventeen Hours Passed Between the Shots and the Name, and the Name Is All the Release Contains.

What the Update Adds, and What It Still Withholds

  • New: a male youth has been arrested and charged with murder.
  • New: the arrest was made on Thursday, September 17, 2026, with the release going up at 7:09 a.m.
  • New, from reporting rather than the release: TorontoToday puts the accused at 16 and of Toronto.
  • Unchanged: the victim remains Cashie Auguste, 17, of Toronto, shot at approximately 3:34 p.m. on Monday, September 14 in the area of Jane Street and Finch Avenue West, pronounced dead in hospital. Toronto’s 24th homicide of 2026. Case 2026-1936774.
  • Still not published: the degree of murder charged. The release says “murder” and stops.
  • Still not published: whether a firearm has been recovered; the weapon type; the number of shots.
  • Still not published: any relationship between the accused and Cashie Auguste, any motive, and any statement on whether the shooting was targeted.
  • Still not published: where and how the arrest was made, whether further arrests are expected, and whether anyone else is being sought.
  • Still not published: a bail or first-appearance date.

Three Days, Which Is Fast

The shooting was Monday at 3:34 p.m. The charge went out Thursday at 7:09 a.m. That is under three days, and on a daylight shooting at a major intersection with no suspect description ever published, it is quick work. The absence of a suspect description in the original release now reads differently: a service that has said nothing publicly about who it is looking for is not necessarily a service that does not know.

The interval is this briefing’s arithmetic. Neither the Toronto Police Service nor any outlet published an elapsed figure.

The Word the Release Does Not Qualify

The update says the youth is charged with murder. It does not say first-degree or second-degree. That distinction matters — first-degree requires planning and deliberation or one of the statutory categories, second-degree does not — and it is ordinarily specified on a Toronto homicide charge. Until the service or a court record specifies it, this briefing does not.

Nor does the release address the question every reader of the first briefing was left with: whether Cashie Auguste was the intended target or, as the founder of the youth organisation he attended put it on Tuesday, possibly an innocent bystander. An arrest does not answer that. It only means the Crown believes it can prove who fired.

What Is Still Not Attached to This File

No gang, street gang, criminal organization or outlaw motorcycle club has been named by the Toronto Police Service, by any outlet, or by anyone else in connection with this homicide — not when the victim was named, and not now that someone has been charged. None is named or implied here. Jane and Finch is a location, not an organization, and is not treated as one.

The two other files on this stretch of Finch Avenue West in the same week — the September 11 shooting near Driftwood Avenue, and the loaded firearm seized at Finch and Yorkgate at half past four on the morning of September 14 under case 2026-1932898 — remain unconnected to this one by any police statement. The arrest changes nothing about that. No link is asserted.

Nothing above has been tested in court. The accused is presumed innocent.

Jane and Finch — Monday, September 14 to Thursday, September 17, 2026

Mon. Sep. 14, 2026, Approximately 3:34 p.m. — The ShootingPolice respond to a call for a shooting in the area of Jane Street and Finch Avenue West. Officers locate a male victim who has been shot; life-saving measures are performed and paramedics transport him to hospital on an emergency run. He is pronounced dead a short time later.
Tue. Sep. 15, 2026, 8:30 a.m. — The NameThe Homicide and Missing Persons Unit publishes under case 2026-1936774, identifying Cashie Auguste, 17, of Toronto, and recording Toronto’s 24th homicide of 2026. No suspect information is included.
Tue. Sep. 15, 2026, Evening — Memorial and VigilA memorial at the York University TC Community Engagement Centre at Yorkgate Mall is followed by a community vigil at the intersection.
Thu. Sep. 17, 2026 — The ArrestA male youth is arrested and charged with murder. The release does not state where or how the arrest was made.
Thu. Sep. 17, 2026, 7:09 a.m. — The Update Goes UpThe Toronto Police Service publishes the update under the same case number, 2026-1936774, headed “UPDATE: Male Youth Arrested.” No division is tagged.
Thu. Sep. 17, 2026, Morning — The CoverageTorontoToday and CTV News Toronto report the arrest, with TorontoToday putting the accused at 16 and of Toronto. The accused cannot be named under the Youth Criminal Justice Act.
As of Publication — OutstandingNo degree of murder specified, no recovered firearm confirmed, no motive, no statement on whether the shooting was targeted, and no word on whether further arrests are expected.
Toronto Police Service
Homicide and Missing Persons Unit
No Division Tagged

Primary Sources

  • Toronto Police Service, “Homicide Investigation, Jane Street and Finch Avenue West area, Victim: Cashie Auguste, 17, UPDATE: Male Youth Arrested”, release 66935, Case #2026-1936774, published Thursday, September 17, 2026 at 7:09 AM. Source for the arrest and murder charge against a male youth.
  • TorontoToday, “Teen charged with murder in North York shooting”, September 17, 2026. Source for the accused being reported as 16 and of Toronto. That age is not in the police release.
  • CTV News Toronto, “Arrest made in fatal shooting of 17-year-old boy in North York”, September 17, 2026.
  • Toronto Police Service, release 66909, September 15, 2026 at 8:30 AM — the original homicide release identifying the victim. Source for the 3:34 p.m. Monday call time, the location, the sequence at the scene, and the 24th-homicide count.
  • The accused cannot be identified under the Youth Criminal Justice Act and is not identified here.
  • The degree of murder is not specified in the release and is not asserted here.
  • The interval of under three days between the shooting and the charge is this briefing’s arithmetic. No source publishes an elapsed figure.
  • No gang, street gang, criminal organization or outlaw motorcycle club has been named by anyone in connection with this homicide, before or after the arrest. None is named or implied here, and no profile page on this site is linked, because no organization covered by one has been named by police in this file.
  • Nothing has been tested in court. The accused is presumed innocent. This briefing should be updated when a degree of murder, a first appearance or any further arrest is published.

Previous BriefingThe Plate Was Photographed in a Jail Parking Lot, and Four Hands Later a Toronto Constable Ran It Through a Police Database: Justice Laura Bird Unseals Part of the Project South ITO (September 17, 2026)Next Briefing Twice in Late August They Could Not Get It to Burn, and at Ten Past Four This Morning It Did: a Third Suspected Arson at the El Khawa Restaurant on Jean-Talon Est Leaves Nine Apartments Evacuated and Three Floors Written Off (September 17, 2026)

Get the briefing before anyone else

Canadian organized crime, every day — arrests, takedowns, court files and the networks behind them. Free, straight to your inbox.

Trending

Discover more from Gangland Files

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading