Extortion & Immigration Enforcement — National

Four Men Are Named and the Organization They Are Said to Have Belonged To Is Not: the CBSA Reports 111 Removals Against 188 Orders in Its Extortion Program, and One of the Four Acknowledged the Pattern (September 14, 2026)

By: Gangland Files  |  Released Monday, September 14, 2026  |  Figures Current to Thursday, September 3, 2026  |  Ottawa, Ontario — Pacific, Prairie and Greater Toronto Area Regions
188Removal Orders Issued
111Individuals Actually Removed
4Men Named by the Agency
0Organizations Named

OTTAWA — The Canada Border Services Agency published a news release on Monday, September 14, 2026 reporting that as of Wednesday, September 3, 2026, 188 removal orders had been issued and 111 people had been removed from Canada under a program aimed at foreign nationals the agency describes as having suspected links to extortion activities. Todd Coyne of CTV News Vancouver carried the file the same day at 1:02 p.m. Eastern. The agency names four of the 111. It does not name the organization that, by its own account, three of the four belonged to.

That is the shape of this document. It is precise about arithmetic and about individuals, and it goes silent at exactly the point where a reader would learn which group is being dismantled. The word the agency uses four separate times is “organization,” unqualified and unmodified, and in one case the man being removed is said to have admitted to conduct that formed part of that organization’s pattern of criminal activity. Somebody at the Immigration and Refugee Board of Canada heard evidence sufficient to find membership proven. The name of the thing was left out of the release.

The Four Named Men — Exactly as the Agency Describes Them

  • Palwinder Singh — a foreign national the CBSA links to an extortion-related shooting in the fall of 2025. Removed after the Immigration and Refugee Board of Canada found him inadmissible under the Immigration and Refugee Protection Act for being a member of a criminal organization linked to extortion-related violence.
  • Jasmer Singh — a foreign national convicted in Canada of forcible confinement. Found inadmissible for serious criminality, issued a deportation order and removed. He is the only one of the four with a stated Canadian conviction, and the only one for whom no organization is alleged.
  • Amitoz Bajwa — a foreign national removed after the Board found him inadmissible for being a member of an organization engaged in a pattern of criminal activity. The agency additionally links him to firearms-related activity and to an extortion-related shooting.
  • Sahibjot Singh — a foreign national the agency links to an organization engaged in a pattern of criminal activity, found inadmissible by the Board. The release states that he acknowledged committing offences that formed part of the organization’s pattern of criminal activity, and that he was subsequently removed.

No age, nationality, city of residence, destination country, removal date or file number is published for any of the four. In the CTV report the four names appear only in a photograph caption and nowhere in the body text.

Seventy-Seven Orders That Have Not Produced a Removal

The two headline numbers are not the same number, and the distance between them is the most useful fact in the release. One hundred and eighty-eight removal orders have been issued. One hundred and eleven people have gone. That leaves 77 orders — two in five — that had not resulted in a removal as of the September 3 cutoff.

A removal order is not a departure. It is a finding of inadmissibility that then has to survive whatever review, appeal, stay, deferral or judicial challenge the person brings, and then has to be executed against a person who has to be locatable and against a receiving country that has to issue a travel document. The agency does not break down where the 77 sit in that process, does not say how many are under appeal, how many are stayed, how many involve people whose whereabouts are unknown, or how many are simply waiting on paper from abroad. It reports the gap without explaining it.

By Region — Orders Issued Against Removals Executed

  • Pacific region — 91 removal orders issued, 58 individuals removed. Thirty-three orders outstanding.
  • Prairie region — 47 removal orders issued, 30 individuals removed. Seventeen orders outstanding.
  • Greater Toronto Area — 50 removal orders issued, 23 individuals removed. Twenty-seven orders outstanding, more than half the orders written in the region.

The three regional figures sum exactly to the national totals of 188 and 111. The agency does not itself calculate the outstanding figures, and does not comment on the difference between the regions.

The GTA Is the Youngest Front and It Shows in the Numbers

Pacific and Prairie removals run at roughly two orders executed in every three written. The Greater Toronto Area runs at fewer than one in two. The agency offers no explanation, and the arithmetic does not require one to be invented: the GTA arm of this program is the newest by a full quarter. Resources went to the Pacific and Prairie regions in August 2025 and reached the GTA in November 2025, three months behind. A file opened later has had less time to clear a process that is measured in months.

That reading is an observation about elapsed time and nothing more. The CBSA does not attribute the GTA gap to the later start, does not attribute it to appeals or to any other cause, and publishes no average time from order to removal in any region.

Four Hundred a Week, and 111 Over Roughly a Year

The release places its own numbers in a context that dwarfs them. The agency says it is currently removing approximately 400 inadmissible individuals every week, that it removed 23,160 inadmissible people in 2025, and that 1,010 of those were removed on grounds of national security, war crimes or human rights violations, organized crime, or criminality. Against that, 111 removals over roughly thirteen months is a rounding error — about a quarter of one ordinary week’s work.

Which is the point of naming the four. A program that produced 111 departures out of 23,160 is not being sold on volume. It is being sold on selection, and the four case summaries are the evidence offered for the selection. Three of the four turn on an Immigration and Refugee Board finding of membership in a criminal organization rather than on a Canadian criminal conviction; only Jasmer Singh is described as convicted of anything in this country, and his conviction — forcible confinement — is the one case in the four where no organization is alleged at all.

The Standard Being Applied Is Not a Criminal Standard

Three of these four men were removed on inadmissibility findings, not on convictions. That is a different proceeding, with a different decision-maker and a different burden, and it is worth stating plainly rather than letting the word “removed” carry an implication it does not hold. Inadmissibility for organized criminality under the Immigration and Refugee Protection Act is decided by the Immigration and Refugee Board on reasonable grounds to believe, not by a criminal court beyond a reasonable doubt, and a finding of membership is not a finding of guilt on any particular offence.

Sahibjot Singh is the exception inside that exception, and his entry is the strongest sentence in the release: the agency states he acknowledged committing offences that formed part of the organization’s pattern of criminal activity. An acknowledgement before the Board is still not a criminal conviction, and the release does not say what the offences were, when they occurred, or where the acknowledgement was made. It is nonetheless the only place in the document where an individual is described as having confirmed the agency’s own theory of the case.

The above is a description of the statutory framework the CBSA and the Board operate under. It is general legal background, is not attributed to either body, and forms no part of any allegation against any named person.

Who Is Quoted and What They Say

Two officials are quoted and neither names an organization. Erin O’Gorman, President of the Canada Border Services Agency, says the removal of more than 100 individuals linked to extortion activities reflects the agency’s sustained efforts to identify, investigate and act against those who pose a threat to communities, and that the results demonstrate the impact of collaboration with law enforcement partners across Canada and a shared commitment to combatting organized crime. The Honourable Gary Anandasangaree, Minister of Public Safety Canada, says extortion and organized crime threaten community safety, that the government is committed to disrupting these activities through collaboration with law enforcement partners and decisive enforcement action, and that removing inadmissible individuals involved in criminal activity strengthens public safety.

The CTV report adds that the extortion networks in question have primarily affected South Asian communities in British Columbia and Ontario. That characterisation is the reporter’s, drawn from the minister’s framing; it identifies a victim community and not a perpetrator organization.

What Is Not Reported

No gang, syndicate, network or criminal organization is named anywhere — not in the CBSA release, not in the CTV report. No age, nationality, city of residence, destination country or date of removal for any of the four named men. No file, case or Board decision number for any of them. No police service is identified as a partner on any of the four files, and no investigation, project or occurrence is named. No breakdown of the 111 by nationality. No explanation of the 77 outstanding orders, and no average interval between order and removal. No count of how many of the 188 are under appeal or stay. No court or Board dates. No prosecution, charge or conviction is reported as arising from the program itself, apart from Jasmer Singh’s pre-existing forcible confinement conviction. The release publishes no time of day.

Because no organization is named by the agency, none is named here, and this briefing links to no profile page on this site. Several organizations covered on these pages operate extortion rackets against South Asian communities in British Columbia and Ontario. The agency has not said this program concerns any of them, and geography and victim community are not identification. Nothing in this file is attributed to any named group.

Palwinder Singh, Amitoz Bajwa and Sahibjot Singh were removed on immigration findings and have not been convicted in Canada of the conduct described. Jasmer Singh’s forcible confinement conviction is the only Canadian conviction stated in the release.

The Extortion Removals Program — August 2025 to September 14, 2026

August 2025 — The Program Opens on Two FrontsThe CBSA dedicates resources to identifying and removing foreign nationals with suspected links to extortion in the Pacific and Prairie regions.
Fall 2025 — The Shooting Behind One of the FourPalwinder Singh is linked by the agency to an extortion-related shooting. No location, date, victim or police file is published.
November 2025 — Expansion to the GTAThe program reaches the Greater Toronto Area, three months behind the Pacific and Prairie regions.
Through 2025 — The Wider BackdropThe CBSA removes 23,160 inadmissible people over the calendar year, 1,010 of them on national security, war crimes or human rights, organized crime and criminality grounds.
Thu. Sep. 3, 2026 — The CutoffAs of this date 188 removal orders have been issued and 111 individuals removed under the program. Seventy-seven orders have not produced a removal.
Mon. Sep. 14, 2026 — The ReleaseThe CBSA publishes the figures from Ottawa and names Palwinder Singh, Jasmer Singh, Amitoz Bajwa and Sahibjot Singh. No time of day is published. No organization is named.
Mon. Sep. 14, 2026, 1:02 p.m. Eastern — The ReportTodd Coyne of CTV News Vancouver publishes the file. The four names appear only in the photograph caption; the body text carries none of the four case summaries.
Canada Border Services Agency
Immigration and Refugee Board of Canada
Public Safety Canada

Primary Sources

  • Canada Border Services Agency: “CBSA efforts to disrupt extortion networks led to over 100 removals”, news release, dateline September 14, 2026, Ottawa, Ontario. Source for the September 3, 2026 cutoff, the 188 removal orders and 111 removals, the regional breakdowns, the August 2025 and November 2025 program dates, the four individual case summaries, the approximately 400 weekly removals, the 23,160 and 1,010 figures for 2025, the roughly 530 immigration enforcement officers, the 1,000 officers being hired under the Border Plan and Budget 2025, the $30.4 million allocated through Canada’s Border Plan against a target of 20,000 removals annually, and both official quotations. Media contact: CBSA Media Relations. Border Watch Line: 1-888-502-9060. The release publishes no time of day.
  • CTV News Vancouver, Todd Coyne: “Here’s how many people the CBSA has deported amid extortion crackdown”, published September 14, 2026 at 1:02 p.m. Eastern. Source for the same-day reporting of the figures and for the statement that the networks have primarily affected South Asian communities in British Columbia and Ontario. The four names appear in that report only in a photograph caption; no case detail on any of the four appears in its body text, and it carries no cutoff date for the figures.
  • The 77 outstanding orders, the regional outstanding figures and the observation that the GTA executes a lower share of its orders than the Pacific and Prairie regions are this briefing’s arithmetic on the agency’s own published numbers. The CBSA does not calculate or comment on any of them. The suggestion that the GTA figure reflects a start three months later is an observation about elapsed time; the agency attributes the difference to nothing at all and publishes no order-to-removal interval.
  • The description of inadmissibility for organized criminality as a Board finding on reasonable grounds to believe rather than a criminal conviction is general legal background about the Immigration and Refugee Protection Act. It is not attributed to the CBSA or to the Immigration and Refugee Board and forms no part of any allegation against any named person.
  • No gang, street gang, syndicate, criminal organization or motorcycle club is named by the CBSA, by the Immigration and Refugee Board or by CTV News in this file. None is named or inferred here, and no profile page on this site is linked from this briefing, because no organization covered by one has been identified by any agency in connection with this program. Victim community and region are not identification.
  • Three of the four named men were removed on immigration inadmissibility findings and are not reported to have been convicted in Canada of the conduct described. The sole stated Canadian conviction is Jasmer Singh’s, for forcible confinement.

Previous BriefingEight Days Apart, the Same Address, and Both Times the Building Was Closed and Empty: Peel Police Confirm a Second Shooting at the Sapphire Lounge on Queen Street South in Streetsville, and Have Issued No Release on Either One (September 13, 2026)Next Briefing Twenty Firearms Came Out of Two Houses in One Afternoon and the Release Never Adds Them Up: Manitoba RCMP Charge Ernest and Natasha Chief Eighteen Days After the Warrants, and Released Both (September 14, 2026)

Get the briefing before anyone else

Canadian organized crime, every day — arrests, takedowns, court files and the networks behind them. Free, straight to your inbox.

Trending

Discover more from Gangland Files

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading