Gangland Files

Inside Canada’s Criminal Underworld


Arson — Halifax Region, Nova Scotia

Five Days Ago the RCMP Would Not Say the Marketway Lane Fires Were Connected; This Morning It Said It Believes They Are, Handed the File to an Integrated Unit, and Disclosed Shots Fired Nobody Had Heard About (September 13, 2026)

By: Gangland Files  |  Released Sunday, September 13, 2026  |  Fire at 3:05 a.m. the Same Morning  |  400 Block of Marketway Lane, Timberlea, Nova Scotia  |  File 26-142965
3Fires on One Block in Nine Days
3:05a.m. — Call Time, Sept. 13
2New Incidents Disclosed
0Suspects Described

TIMBERLEA, N.S. — The word the Nova Scotia RCMP would not use five days ago is the first thing it says now. In a release issued Sunday morning, September 13, 2026, under file 26-142965, the force states that investigators believe the fire that destroyed a home on the 400 block of Marketway Lane at approximately 3:05 a.m. that morning is linked to the arson and attempted arson on the same street earlier in the month. On September 8, publishing those two earlier files together, the RCMP pointedly declined to say they were connected to each other at all.

Three things changed between those two documents, and all three point the same way. The force has drawn the connection. It has moved the investigation to the RCMP/HRP Integrated Criminal Investigation Division, a joint unit run with Halifax Regional Police, and put that unit’s name in the headline. And it has disclosed, for the first time, two incidents nobody outside the investigation had heard about: possible shots fired in the area, and a possible break and enter in August.

Gangland Files covered the first two Marketway Lane files on September 8 in a briefing on the Molotov cocktail thrown at a home on September 5 and the man seen leaving a residence with a lit cloth on September 7. That briefing recorded that the RCMP had not stated the two were connected and had not said either was targeted. The first of those two silences has now ended.

What Is New in the September 13 Release

  • A third fire. At approximately 3:05 a.m. on September 13, RCMP officers and fire services responded to a report of a structure fire at a home in the 400 block of Marketway Lane. On arrival the residence was fully engulfed in flames. No injuries were reported.
  • The link is now asserted. “Investigators believe the incident is linked to an arson and attempted arson on the same street earlier this month.” That is the sentence the September 8 release did not contain.
  • The file has moved. The RCMP/HRP Integrated Criminal Investigation Division — a joint RCMP and Halifax Regional Police unit — is named in the headline and in the opening line as the investigating body. The RCMP Halifax Regional Detachment, which held the earlier files, is not named anywhere in this release.
  • Two previously unpublished incidents. The release refers to other suspicious activity in the area, including possible shots fired and a possible break and enter in August. Neither had appeared in any prior RCMP release on this street.
  • A vehicle. A dark-coloured SUV was seen leaving the property after the fire was set. That is the entire description.
  • A visible police posture. Officers have increased their presence in the community, with both marked and unmarked police vehicles patrolling the neighbourhood.

The Hedging Is Doubled and It Is Doing Real Work

Read the operative sentence closely. Investigators believe the incident is linked. The shots fired are possible. The break and enter is possible. Three qualifiers in a single sentence, from a force that five days earlier had qualified nothing because it had said nothing.

That is a police service disclosing more than it is prepared to stand behind, which is itself a decision worth noting. A hedged disclosure of unconfirmed shots fired on a residential street is not the language of a routine fire investigation; it is the language of a warning to a neighbourhood. The increased marked and unmarked patrols point the same direction. The RCMP does not say it expects another incident, and no such statement is attributed to it here.

An Integrated Division Is Not a Routine Assignment

The RCMP/HRP Integrated Criminal Investigation Division is a joint unit staffed by both the RCMP and Halifax Regional Police, and the force put it in the headline rather than burying it. Files do not move from a detachment to an integrated criminal investigation division because a third fire happened to be bigger than the first two. They move when the file has grown a shape that a detachment general-investigation workload cannot carry.

What that shape is, the release does not say. It does not state a motive. It never uses the word “targeted” — not once, in a document describing a third fire on one block in nine days. It does not say whether the three fires struck the same home or three different ones, does not give civic addresses, and does not say whether anyone was inside on September 13 or how the occupants got out.

Nine Days, One Block

The compression is the story. September 5: a Molotov cocktail thrown at a home, the residence fully engulfed on arrival. September 7, two days later: a man seen leaving a residence with a lit cloth, dropping it and fleeing in a vehicle, an accelerant jug left in the yard. September 13, six days after that: a third fire, again in the small hours, again fully engulfed on arrival, again on the 400 block of Marketway Lane.

Three approaches to one block, each between roughly 2 a.m. and 4:30 a.m., two of them confirmed as arson and the third described by the RCMP in terms — “after the fire was set” — that admit of nothing else. The force does not characterise the pattern beyond stating the belief in a link, and this briefing does not characterise it further.

The Vehicle Descriptions Do Not Match, and the RCMP Does Not Say They Should

Three incidents have now produced three vehicle references, and no two of them are the same. On September 5 the RCMP sought information about a small blue vehicle seen leaving the area. On September 7 it sought a man in black pants and a brown jacket seen in a grey Honda Civic. On September 13 it reports a dark-coloured SUV leaving the property.

A small blue vehicle, a grey Civic and a dark SUV are three different descriptions. That is consistent with more than one vehicle in use, with vehicles changed between incidents, or with imprecise night-time observation by different witnesses, and the RCMP asserts none of the three. It does not say the vehicles are connected, does not say how many people it believes are involved, and offers no suspect description of any kind — no age, no gender, no number.

What Is Not Reported

No civic address for the September 13 fire beyond the 400 block. No statement of whether the home was occupied, whether anyone was inside, or how anyone got out. No damage estimate and no statement of whether the structure is a total loss. No dates, addresses or file numbers for the earlier arson and attempted arson — only “earlier this month.” No date for the possible shots fired, and no date beyond the month for the possible break and enter. No confirmation of either. No make, model, year, plate, occupant count or direction of travel for the dark-coloured SUV. No suspect description. No motive. No arrest and no person of interest. No statement of whether the three fires struck the same address. No fire marshal or fire investigator is mentioned, no crew count, no time to control. No officer is named and nobody is quoted — everything is attributed to “investigators.” The release publishes no time of day for its own issue.

The RCMP names no gang, street gang, criminal organization or motorcycle club in this file, has not used the word targeted, and has stated no motive. None of those things is supplied here. No profile page on this site is linked from this briefing, because no organization covered by one has been named by police in connection with Marketway Lane. This briefing carries the file on the offence facts — a third fire on one block in nine days, now stated by police to be linked to the earlier two, moved to an integrated investigative division — and on nothing else.

No one has been arrested or charged in any of the Marketway Lane incidents, and nothing described above has been tested in court.

The 400 Block of Marketway Lane — September 5 to September 13, 2026

August 2026 — Date Not ReportedA possible break and enter occurs in the area. It is disclosed for the first time in the September 13 release and is not confirmed.
Date Not Reported — Possible Shots FiredOther suspicious activity in the area includes what the RCMP calls possible shots fired. No date, address or file number is published, and the report is not confirmed.
Sat. Sep. 5, 2026, approx. 2:20 a.m. — The First FireA Molotov cocktail is thrown at a home on the 400 block; the residence is fully engulfed on arrival. RCMP seek information about a small blue vehicle leaving the area. File 26-138512.
Mon. Sep. 7, 2026, approx. 4:10 a.m. — The Attempted ArsonA man is seen leaving a residence on the same block with a lit cloth, drops it and flees in a vehicle; a jug of accelerant is left in the yard. RCMP seek a man in a grey Honda Civic. File 26-139419.
Tue. Sep. 8, 2026, 1:31 p.m. — The First ReleaseNova Scotia RCMP publishes both files under the Halifax Regional Detachment. It does not say either fire was targeted and does not say the two are connected.
Sun. Sep. 13, 2026, approx. 3:05 a.m. — The Third FireRCMP and fire services respond to a structure fire on the 400 block. The residence is fully engulfed on arrival. No injuries. A dark-coloured SUV is seen leaving the property after the fire was set.
Sun. Sep. 13, 2026 — The Second ReleaseThe RCMP states that investigators believe the incident is linked to the earlier arson and attempted arson, names the RCMP/HRP Integrated Criminal Investigation Division as the investigating body, discloses the possible shots fired and August break and enter, and reports increased marked and unmarked patrols. File 26-142965. No time of day is published.
RCMP/HRP Integrated Criminal Investigation Division
Nova Scotia RCMP
Halifax Regional Police

Primary Sources

  • Nova Scotia RCMP: “RCMP/HRP Integrated Criminal Investigation Division investigating Timberlea arson”, news release, dateline September 13, 2026, Timberlea, Nova Scotia, file 26-142965. Source for the 3:05 a.m. call, the 400 block of Marketway Lane, the fully engulfed residence, the absence of injuries, the belief that the incident is linked to the earlier arson and attempted arson, the reference to other suspicious activity including possible shots fired and a possible break and enter in August, the dark-coloured SUV seen leaving the property after the fire was set, and the increased marked and unmarked patrols. Tip lines: 902-490-5020, Nova Scotia Crime Stoppers 1-800-222-TIPS (8477), and the P3 Tips app; the release asks specifically for dashcam and doorbell camera footage. Media contact: Strategic Communications and Media Relations, Nova Scotia RCMP. The release publishes no time of day.
  • The September 5 and September 7 incident details, the small blue vehicle and grey Honda Civic descriptions, the 1:31 p.m. timestamp on the September 8 release and files 26-138512 and 26-139419 are carried from this site’s September 8 briefing and the Nova Scotia RCMP release it was built on.
  • The observation that the September 8 release did not state the two earlier incidents were connected, and that the September 13 release does state a belief in a link, is a comparison of the two RCMP documents. The force does not remark on the change in its own position.
  • The observation that the file has moved from the RCMP Halifax Regional Detachment to the RCMP/HRP Integrated Criminal Investigation Division is likewise drawn from comparing the two releases: the detachment is named in the first and appears nowhere in the second. The RCMP does not announce a transfer of carriage and gives no reason for the change. The reading of that move as reflecting a file that outgrew a detachment workload is this briefing’s analysis and is not attributed to the force.
  • The note that three incidents have produced three non-matching vehicle descriptions is this briefing’s comparison of the published descriptions. The RCMP does not say the vehicles are connected, does not say how many suspects it believes are involved, and publishes no suspect description of any kind.
  • The RCMP names no gang, street gang, criminal organization or motorcycle club in any of the three Marketway Lane files, has never used the word “targeted,” and has stated no motive. None of those is supplied or inferred here, and no profile page on this site is linked from this briefing.
  • No one has been arrested or charged in connection with any of the Marketway Lane incidents. Nothing described above has been tested in court.

Share This Story
Facebook X Email
← Previous BriefingTwenty Firearms Came Out of Two Houses in One Afternoon and the Release Never Adds Them Up: Manitoba RCMP Charge Ernest and Natasha Chief Eighteen Days After the Warrants, and Released Both (September 14, 2026)Next Briefing →Seventeen Hours Passed Between the Shots and the Name, and the Name Is All the Release Contains: Cashie Auguste, 17, Is Toronto’s Twenty-Fourth Homicide of 2026, Shot in Daylight at Jane and Finch (September 15, 2026)

Get the briefing before anyone else

Canadian organized crime, every day — arrests, takedowns, court files and the networks behind them. Free, straight to your inbox.

Trending