Attempted Murder Charge — Hamilton

The Hydro Corridor Has Vanished From the File and an Intersection Has Taken Its Place: Hamilton Police Name Darien Wilson, 18, on Seven Counts Over the King Street East Shooting, and Say Nothing At All About the Second Suspect (September 21, 2026)

By: Gangland Files  |  Charge Announced Monday, September 21, 2026  |  King Street East and Lawrence Road, Hamilton  |  Case Number 26-713318
2:12p.m. Friday, Time of the Shooting
7Counts Against One Accused
1Firearm Recovered
0Words on the Second Suspect

HAMILTON — Three days after two teenagers were shot in the city’s east end and the Hamilton Police Service published nothing about it, the force has published a release, a case number, a name and seven counts. Darien Wilson, 18, of Hamilton is charged with attempted murder. Police now say the shooting was targeted and that a firearm was recovered. Two things that were in the record on Friday are not in the release: the hydro corridor, and the second suspect.

What Is New Since Friday

This site covered the shooting on Friday, September 18, 2026, at a point when the Hamilton Police Service had issued no release on it at all and the entire public account came from two newsrooms. That file recorded no name, no age beyond “teenaged,” no charge, no case number, no investigating unit and no recovered firearm. All six of those blanks have now been filled.

The release issued Monday, September 21 supplies the following for the first time: the accused is named as Darien Wilson, aged 18, of Hamilton. The case number is 26-713318. The investigating unit is the Shooting Response Team, with the Homicide Unit now assisting because an attempted murder charge has been laid. A firearm was recovered. Police describe the shooting as targeted.

The Seven Counts

The charge sheet is unusually explicit for a file this fresh. Wilson is charged with attempted murder; discharge firearm with intent to injure; reckless discharge of a firearm; possession of a restricted firearm — loaded; possession of a restricted firearm knowing its possession was unauthorized; and two counts of aggravated assault.

Read together, those counts describe a specific allegation rather than a general one. The two aggravated assault counts are the two people who were hit. The two possession counts say the gun was restricted, that it was loaded, and that the person carrying it is alleged to have known he was not entitled to have it. That is the pairing that turns a firearm charge into a file about who was carrying what, and it is laid alongside the attempt count rather than instead of it.

None of these charges has been tested in court. The release does not state whether Wilson has appeared before a justice, whether he was held for a bail hearing or released, or when he is next in court.

The File as Published

  • Case number: 26-713318.
  • Time of the shooting: approximately 2:12 p.m., Friday, September 18, 2026.
  • Location, as given by police now: the area of King Street East and Lawrence Road, Hamilton.
  • Location, as given on Friday: a hydro corridor in the area of Cochrane Road and Lawrence Road. A resident separately described an apartment building parking lot.
  • Victims: two people, located by patrol officers with gunshot wounds, transported to hospital with non-life-threatening injuries. Friday’s reporting identified them as a teenage boy and a teenage girl. The release gives no ages, no genders and no relationship between them.
  • Accused: Darien Wilson, 18, of Hamilton. Arrested shortly after the shooting.
  • Charges: attempted murder; discharge firearm with intent to injure; reckless discharge of a firearm; possession of a restricted firearm — loaded; possession of a restricted firearm knowing its possession was unauthorized; two counts of aggravated assault.
  • Firearm: one recovered. No make, model, calibre, location of recovery or origin published.
  • Investigating unit: Shooting Response Team, with the Homicide Unit assisting following the laying of the attempted murder charge.
  • Characterisation: police believe the shooting was targeted.
  • Second suspect: not mentioned in the release.
  • Photograph of the accused: not provided.
  • Court: no appearance, bail outcome or next date published.
  • Organization: none named by police.

The Second Suspect Who Is No Longer in the File

On Friday afternoon, the reporting said a male suspect in his late teens had been arrested and that a second suspect remained outstanding, with no description released. That person appears nowhere in Monday’s release.

There are several innocent explanations and the release supports none of them over any other. The second person may have been located and released without charge. The initial account may have been wrong. The investigation may have concluded one shooter acted alone. Or a second person may still be outstanding and the force may simply not have said so in a document whose purpose was to announce a charge. What is on the record is that a second outstanding suspect entered the public account on September 18 and left it without a sentence of explanation on September 21. Police continue to investigate is the closest the release comes, and it is addressed to the public for video rather than to the question of who else was there.

Cochrane Road, and Then King Street East

Friday’s account placed the shooting in a hydro corridor near Cochrane Road and Lawrence Road. Monday’s release places it in the area of King Street East and Lawrence Road. These are not contradictory descriptions — the Cochrane Road hydro corridor sits in that pocket of the lower east end, a short distance from the King and Lawrence intersection, and a force writing a charge release will reasonably reach for a major intersection over a utility easement.

It is worth recording anyway, because the corridor was the disputed detail on Friday. A business across the street put multiple shots at around 2:30 p.m., and a resident said he helped a victim who told him he had been shot in the leg in an apartment building parking lot — an account that did not match the hydro corridor police had given. The release resolves the time firmly at 2:12 p.m. It does not resolve the parking lot, because it does not mention one. The precise spot where the two victims were hit has now been described three different ways in three days, and the only version carrying a case number is the vaguest of them.

Targeted, and What That Word Does Not Carry

The Shooting Response Team “believes the shooting was targeted.” On Friday, police had not described it that way; this site said so at the time and declined to supply the word on their behalf. It is now on the record and is used here because Hamilton Police put it there.

Targeted is not a gang finding. It means investigators believe the person or people shot were selected rather than hit at random, and nothing beyond that. The release names no gang, no street group, no outlaw motorcycle club and no criminal organization, offers no motive, and does not say whether the accused and the victims knew each other. None of those things is asserted here, and no profile page on this site is linked, because nothing in the reporting connects this file to any organization this site covers. Two teenagers shot in the afternoon in a mid-sized Ontario city is not evidence of a syndicate, and shared geography is not a connection.

What the Homicide Unit’s Presence Means Here

The release notes that the Homicide Unit is now assisting following the laying of the attempted murder charge. That is a procedural consequence, not a change in the victims’ condition. Both people shot were taken to hospital with non-life-threatening injuries and no source reports any deterioration. Services routinely bring homicide investigators onto an attempt file because the charge carries the same evidentiary standard as a completed one. No one has died in this file.

What Is Still Not Reported

No ages, genders or condition updates for the two victims beyond non-life-threatening. No relationship between the accused and either victim. No motive. No account of how many shots were fired. No description of the firearm — no make, calibre, magazine, or whether it was traced. No statement of where or how the firearm was recovered, or whether it was recovered from the accused. No detail on the arrest “shortly after” the shooting: no location, no vehicle, no foot pursuit, no assisting unit. No mention of the three elementary schools placed in hold-and-secure on Friday. No word on the second suspect. No photograph of the accused. No court appearance, bail outcome or next date. No named officer or spokesperson beyond the Shooting Response Team line. And no organization of any kind.

King Street East and Lawrence Road — September 18 to 21, 2026

Fri. Sep. 18, 2026, About 2:12 p.m. — The ShootingHamilton Police respond to reports of a shooting in the area of King Street East and Lawrence Road. Patrol officers locate two victims with gunshot wounds and provide assistance. Both are taken to hospital with non-life-threatening injuries.
Fri. Sep. 18, 2026, Shortly After — The ArrestDarien Wilson, 18, of Hamilton is arrested. A firearm is recovered. Neither fact is made public on this day.
Fri. Sep. 18, 2026, 2:57 p.m. EDT — First ReportedCHCH News files the shooting, placing it in a hydro corridor near Cochrane Road and Lawrence Road, with a teenage boy and a teenage girl wounded, a male suspect in his late teens arrested, and a second suspect outstanding. Three elementary schools are placed in hold-and-secure.
Fri. Sep. 18, 2026, 3:16 p.m. EDT — Second AccountCP24 and CTV News Toronto file the same incident. A business across the street reports multiple shots at around 2:30 p.m.; a resident describes helping a victim shot in the leg in an apartment building parking lot. The Hamilton Police Service has published nothing.
Mon. Sep. 21, 2026 — The ReleaseHamilton Police issue “Hamilton Police Lay Attempted Murder Charge” under case number 26-713318. Wilson is named and charged on seven counts. The Shooting Response Team has carriage; the Homicide Unit is assisting. Police say the shooting was targeted. The second suspect is not mentioned.
Mon. Sep. 21, 2026, 12:41 p.m. EDT — CarriedCP24 publishes the charge under Joshua McGinnis’s byline. No image of the accused is provided. Police continue to appeal for dash camera, residential security and cellphone video from the area.
Hamilton Police Service
Shooting Response Team
Homicide Unit
Case No. 26-713318
Crime Stoppers Hamilton
No Organization Named

Primary Sources

  • Hamilton Police Service: “Hamilton Police Lay Attempted Murder Charge”, case number 26-713318, Hamilton, 21 September 2026. Source of record for: the name and age of the accused; all seven counts; the 2:12 p.m. Friday, September 18 time; the King Street East and Lawrence Road location; the two victims located by patrol officers with gunshot wounds and transported with non-life-threatening injuries; the arrest shortly after the shooting; the recovery of a firearm; the Shooting Response Team’s carriage of the investigation; the Homicide Unit assisting following the attempted murder charge; the belief that the shooting was targeted; and the appeal for dash camera, residential security and cellphone video.
  • CP24: “18-year-old man charged with attempted murder after double shooting in Hamilton”, by Joshua McGinnis, published Monday, September 21, 2026 at 12:41 p.m. EDT. Source of record for: the statement that no image of the suspect was provided, and for the “broad daylight” framing. CP24 gives the time as “shortly before 2:15 p.m.”; the release gives 2:12 p.m., and the release is used here.
  • Parent file: this site’s briefing of September 18, 2026, which is the source of record here for the Friday account: the hydro corridor near Cochrane Road and Lawrence Road; the teenage boy and teenage girl; the male suspect in his late teens; the second suspect reported outstanding with no description released; the hold-and-secure at Rosedale, Viscount Montgomery and St. Eugene elementary schools; the multiple shots reported at around 2:30 p.m.; and the resident’s account of a victim shot in the leg in an apartment building parking lot. That briefing rests on CHCH News, reported at 2:57 p.m. EDT by Julia Vellucci and Danielle de Graauw, and on CP24 and CTV News Toronto, reported at 3:16 p.m. EDT by Bryann Aguilar.
  • On the second suspect: the September 21 release does not mention one. No source states that a second person was located, cleared, released or charged. The disappearance of this thread from the public record is recorded here as an absence and is not interpreted.
  • On the location: the two descriptions — a Cochrane Road hydro corridor and the King Street East and Lawrence Road intersection — are compatible as geography and are both recorded here. The apartment building parking lot described by a resident on Friday is not addressed in the release.
  • On “targeted”: this is the Shooting Response Team’s stated belief, published September 21. It was not on the record on September 18. It carries no gang or organizational finding.
  • On organization: Hamilton Police name no gang, criminal organization or outlaw motorcycle club in this file. None is named or inferred here, and no profile page on this site is linked.
  • None of the charges has been tested in court. No court appearance, bail outcome or next date has been published.

Share This Story
Facebook X Email
Previous BriefingSeventy-One Vehicles Produced Forty-Two Counts, and Twenty-Three of Them Are for Attempting an Offence the Release Never Names: Peel Puts Andrea Cederberg, 33, of No Fixed Address on the Wanted List and Says Four Other Police Services May Be Holding the Same File (September 19, 2026)Next Briefing Two People Shot at Half Past Twelve on a Monday Afternoon, and Twenty-Four Minutes Later the Entire Public Record Ran to Six Sentences: Toronto Police Search for a Suspect Near Warden and St. Clair and Have Published No Release (September 21, 2026)

Get the briefing before anyone else

Canadian organized crime, every day — arrests, takedowns, court files and the networks behind them. Free, straight to your inbox.

Trending

Discover more from Gangland Files

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading