He Was Under a Weapons Prohibition, on a Release Order and Driving on a Novice Licence, and the Gun in the Car Had Its Serial Number Filed Off: Durham Police Charge Donovan Wendt, 34, After a Bowmanville Traffic Stop (September 16, 2026)
BOWMANVILLE — It was a quarter to four in the afternoon and the stop was not about a gun. Durham Regional Police say members of the East Division Community Response Unit were on proactive patrol on Tuesday, September 15, 2026 when they pulled a vehicle over in the area of Liberty Street South and Lake Road. Speaking to the driver, officers saw signs of impairment and made a roadside breath demand; he registered a fail on the approved screening device and was arrested on that basis. Searching him, they found drugs. Searching the car, they found a loaded firearm with its serial number altered. The force says that at the moment of his arrest the man was already bound by a weapons prohibition. Donovan Wendt, 34, of Oshawa now faces ten counts, six of them firearms offences.
The release went out on Wednesday, September 16, a day after the stop. It runs to a few hundred words and publishes the accused’s name in bold, which is more than many Durham releases do. What it does not publish is almost everything a reader would need to size the seizure.
The Ten Counts Against Donovan Wendt, 34, of Oshawa
- Possess Restricted/Prohibited Firearm – No Licence
- Possess Restricted/Prohibited Firearm Knowingly No Authority
- Unlicensed Possession of Prohibited/Restricted Firearm
- Possess Firearm While Prohibited
- Possess Firearm with Altered Serial Number
- Occupy Vehicle with Firearm
- Possess Schedule I Substance × 2
- Novice Driver Above Zero Blood Alcohol Content
- Fail to Comply with Release Order
- Custody: held for a bail hearing.
Three Classes of Restriction, All Running at Once
The charge sheet describes a man operating under three separate legal constraints simultaneously, and the release states each one without drawing the line between them.
The first is the weapons prohibition. Durham says plainly that the accused “was bound by a weapons prohibition” at the time of arrest, and the count of possessing a firearm while prohibited follows from it. The force does not say when the order was imposed, by which court, for how long, or what it arose from — whether it is a discretionary order under section 110, a mandatory one under section 109, or a lifetime prohibition.
The second is the release order. A separate count alleges failure to comply with one, which means he was already before the courts on some other matter and subject to conditions when the stop happened. The release does not identify that matter, the issuing court, the conditions breached, or whether the outstanding file is itself a firearms file.
The third is the driver’s licence. The count of novice driver above zero blood alcohol content is a Highway Traffic Act offence that applies to G1, G2, M1 and M2 holders, for whom the permitted blood alcohol level is nil. It is charged here against a 34-year-old. The combination is not illegal — a novice licence has no upper age limit — but it is the reason this stop escalated at all. On a full licence, a reading below 0.05 produces no offence and, in the ordinary course, no arrest; without an arrest there is no search incident to it, and without the search the firearm stays in the vehicle.
The Filed Serial Number
Of the six firearms counts, the one that says the most about the gun is the altered serial number. Every firearm lawfully manufactured for or imported into Canada carries a serial number, and that number is what ties a weapon to an owner, a registration and a point of entry. Removing or defacing it is a separate Criminal Code offence precisely because it severs the gun from its own history.
Durham publishes the count and nothing else. The release does not say whether the firearm was a handgun or a long gun, whether it was restricted or prohibited, what calibre it was, how many rounds it held, whether the magazine was oversized, whether the weapon was reported stolen, or whether it has been sent for tracing. It confirms only that it was loaded and that it was in the vehicle. The service does not state whether the firearm is believed to be a domestic diversion, a cross-border import or a privately manufactured weapon, and no such claim is made here.
What Is Not Reported
No occurrence number — unusual for a Durham release, which commonly carries one. No drug is identified: two counts of possessing a Schedule I substance are laid, but the release says only “a quantity of drugs,” with no substance named, no weight, no packaging described, no cash, no scale, no phone, and no trafficking count. No court date. No description of the vehicle and no mention of any passenger. No firearm description of any kind. No statement of whether the accused has a prior record beyond the two orders already named.
And no gang, street gang, criminal organization or outlaw motorcycle club has been named by the Durham Regional Police Service in this file. None is named or implied here, and no profile page on this site is linked, because none has been alleged by police.
The investigating officer is Cst. Walker of the East Division Community Response Unit, reachable at 1-888-579-1520 ext. 2411. Durham Regional Crime Stoppers takes anonymous information at 1-800-222-8477.
These allegations have yet to be proven in court.
Bowmanville — September 15–16, 2026
Primary Sources
- Durham Regional Police Service, “Loaded Firearm Seized During Bowmanville Traffic Stop”, media release dated Sep 16, 2026. Source for the date and approximate time of the stop, the East Division Community Response Unit and its proactive patrol, the location at Liberty Street South and Lake Road, the observation of signs of impairment, the roadside demand and the fail on the approved screening device, the search of the accused producing a quantity of drugs, the search of the vehicle producing a loaded firearm, the statement that the accused was bound by a weapons prohibition at the time of arrest, the accused’s name, age and residence, the full list of ten counts, the hold for a bail hearing, and the contact details for Cst. Walker and Durham Regional Crime Stoppers. The release carries a date but no time of publication.
- The charge names are reproduced as the force wrote them, including its rendering of “Possess Schedule 1 Substance x2”. The count of ten is this briefing’s arithmetic, treating the doubled Schedule I count as two; the force publishes the list without totalling it. The count of six firearms offences is likewise this briefing’s, covering the five firearm-possession counts and the count of occupying a vehicle with a firearm.
- The release does not describe the firearm. No class, calibre, action, magazine capacity, round count or stolen status is published, and none is supplied here. The force states that it was loaded and that it was located in the vehicle.
- No drug is identified. Two counts of possessing a Schedule I substance are laid, but the release names no substance and gives no weight, value or packaging. No trafficking count has been laid.
- No occurrence number is published in this release. The reference to Durham releases ordinarily carrying one is an observation of this site’s own reporting history and not a statement by the force.
- The description of the novice-driver blood alcohol standard and of serial numbers as the link between a firearm and its registration and ownership history is general legal and regulatory background. The release cites no statute or section by name, and the prohibition order’s type, source, duration and issuing court are not published. Nothing here asserts which order or which underlying file is involved.
- No gang, street gang, criminal organization or outlaw motorcycle club has been named by the Durham Regional Police Service in this file, and none is named or implied here. No profile page on this site is linked for that reason.
- Donovan Wendt has not entered a plea. These allegations have yet to be proven in court.



