Firearms — North Toronto

Three of the Four Were Masked and Two of the Four Were Already Prohibited From Touching a Gun: Toronto Police Take Two Loaded Prohibited Firearms Out of a Parked Car at Dufferin and Steeles and Publish the Charge Sheet Five Days After the Bail Hearing (September 11, 2026)

By: Gangland Files  |  Released Friday, September 11, 2026 at 11:54 a.m.  |  Incident Sunday, September 6, 2026  |  Case 2026-1875019  |  Dufferin Street and Steeles Avenue West, Toronto
4Arrested, One a Youth
2Loaded Prohibited Firearms
3Wearing Masks
5 daysBail Hearing to Release

TORONTO — Four people were sitting in a car in a parking lot near Dufferin Street and Steeles Avenue West on Sunday, September 6, 2026, and three of them were wearing masks. Someone had called Toronto Police to report a person with a gun. Responding 32 Division officers found the vehicle, arrested two of the occupants where they sat, and chased down the other two on foot. Two loaded prohibited firearms came out of the car.

The Toronto Police Service published the file on Friday, September 11, 2026 at 11:54 a.m. under case number 2026-1875019 — five days after the incident, and four days after every one of the accused had already been through a bail hearing. The release does not say what happened at that hearing.

The Accused — All of Toronto

  • Aisosa Osadebamwen, 20 — the longest charge sheet of the four. Possess Firearm Without Holding a Licence; two counts of Occupy Motor Vehicle with Firearm; two counts of Possess Restricted or Prohibited Firearm Knowingly Not Holding a Licence and Registration Certificate; two counts of Use/handle/store firearm, etc. carelessly; two counts of Possess loaded regulated firearm; four counts of Possess prohibited/restricted weapon or prohibited device knowing no authority; two counts of Possess weapon, etc./dangerous to public peace; two counts of Possess firearm, etc. while prohibited; and a further Possess firearm without holding a licence, a further Use/handle/store firearm, etc. carelessly, and Carry concealed weapon.
  • Nana Asamoh, 18 — Possess firearm without holding a licence; Occupy motor vehicle with firearm, etc.; Possess restricted or prohibited firearm knowingly not holding a licence and registration certificate; Use/handle/store firearm, etc. carelessly; Possess loaded regulated firearm; two counts of Possess prohibited/restricted weapon or prohibited device knowing no authority; Possess weapon, etc./dangerous to public peace; and Possess firearm, etc. while prohibited.
  • Tafary Church, 24 — the same eight-count structure as Asamoh, including Possess firearm, etc. while prohibited, plus two counts of Fail to comply with Release Order. The release says Church “is charged” rather than “was arrested and charged,” which is the only wording variation across the four.
  • A male youth, 17 — Possess firearm without holding a licence; Occupy motor vehicle with firearm, etc.; Possess restricted or prohibited firearm knowingly not holding a licence and registration certificate; Use/handle/store firearm, etc. carelessly; Possess loaded regulated firearm; two counts of Possess prohibited/restricted weapon or prohibited device knowing no authority; and Possess weapon, etc./dangerous to public peace. He cannot be named under the Youth Criminal Justice Act, and no home city is published for him. He is the only one of the four not charged with possessing a firearm while prohibited.

Doubled Counts for Two Guns, and One Man Carrying Both

The charge sheets have a readable internal logic. Three of the four face a single set of firearm counts. Osadebamwen faces most of the same counts twice over — two counts of occupying a motor vehicle with a firearm, two of possessing a loaded regulated firearm, two of possessing a restricted or prohibited firearm without licence and registration, four of possessing a prohibited weapon or device.

There were two firearms in the car. Doubling the counts against one accused and not against the others is how a charge sheet expresses the allegation that a single person is answerable for both of them, while the remaining three are each answerable for one. Toronto Police do not say this, and the release offers no explanation of how the two guns were distributed among the four. It is what the arithmetic of the counts indicates, not what the force has stated.

The word “loaded” is doing significant work in every one of the four charge sheets. A loaded prohibited firearm in a vehicle is the precise fact pattern that takes a possession file out of the paperwork category, and both guns in this car were described that way.

Two Men Already Barred From Holding a Gun, and a Third on a Release Order

Osadebamwen is charged with two counts of possessing a firearm while prohibited. Asamoh and Church each face one. That count only exists where the accused is already under a court order barring them from possessing firearms, which means three of the four adults in this car were, on the allegation, carrying guns they had already been told by a court they could not have.

Church adds two counts of failing to comply with a release order on top of that — a separate order, from a separate proceeding, allegedly breached the same night. Neither the underlying prohibitions nor the underlying release order is described anywhere in the release. What they were imposed for, when, and by which court is not published, and the force does not say whether any of the four was known to it beforehand.

The 17-year-old is the outlier. His charge sheet is the standard single-firearm set with no prohibition count attached, which is consistent with a young person who was not previously before a court on a firearms matter. That is an inference from the absence of a count, not a statement by police.

A Call for Service, Not an Investigation

This file did not come from a warrant, a project or a specialized unit. It came from someone dialling to report a person with a gun, and from uniformed 32 Division officers arriving and finding the car. No Guns and Gangs unit is named. No provincial or federal partner is named. No project or operation name is given, and the release is issued by Corporate Communications for 32 Division with no officer named anywhere in it.

Nothing about how the four came to be sitting masked in a parked car with two loaded guns is explained. There was no shooting; the release describes no victim, no shots fired and no injuries. What the four were allegedly doing or about to do is not stated, and no such allegation is made here.

What Is Not Reported

No exact address — only the Dufferin Street and Steeles Avenue West area and an unidentified parking lot, with no plaza or building named. No time of day for the September 6 call. No arrest time, and no explicit statement that the arrests happened the same day, though the September 7 bail appearances imply it. No make, model, calibre or magazine capacity for either firearm, and no ammunition count. No description of the vehicle, and no statement of whether it was stolen. No home city for the 17-year-old. No bail outcome from the September 7 hearings, despite the release appearing four days later. No indication whether the four were known to each other or to police beforehand, and no explanation of the prior prohibitions or the release order Church is alleged to have breached. No mention of drugs, cash or any other seizure.

Critically, the Toronto Police Service names no gang, no street group, no criminal organization and no motorcycle club in this file, and none is named here. Four people in a car with two loaded guns is not, on its own, evidence of anything organized, and the force asserts nothing of the kind. The file qualifies on the facts of the offence — loaded prohibited firearms recovered from accused already under firearms prohibitions — and on nothing else.

All four accused are presumed innocent. The 17-year-old cannot be identified under the Youth Criminal Justice Act. Nothing described above has been tested in court.

Case 2026-1875019 — September 6 to September 11, 2026

Sun. Sep. 6, 2026 — The CallToronto Police receive a Person with a Gun call in the Dufferin Street and Steeles Avenue West area. No time of day is published.
Same Day — The VehicleResponding 32 Division officers locate the vehicle in a parking lot. Four people are seated inside; three are wearing masks.
Same Day — Two In, Two OutTwo of the accused are arrested inside the vehicle. The remaining two flee on foot and are apprehended by responding officers. Two loaded prohibited firearms are seized.
Mon. Sep. 7, 2026, 10:00 a.m. — Bail, Room 106Aisosa Osadebamwen, 20, Nana Asamoh, 18, and Tafary Church, 24, are scheduled to appear at the Toronto Regional Bail Centre, 2201 Finch Avenue West. The outcome is not published.
Mon. Sep. 7, 2026, 10:00 a.m. — Bail, Room 107The 17-year-old male is scheduled to appear at the same address in the adjacent courtroom. The outcome is not published.
Fri. Sep. 11, 2026, 11:54 a.m. — The ReleaseToronto Police Corporate Communications publishes the file for 32 Division with images of the seized firearms, four days after the bail appearances. No officer is named and no gang is identified.
Toronto Police Service — 32 Division
TPS Corporate Communications
Toronto Regional Bail Centre

Primary Sources

  • Toronto Police Service: “Four Arrests made in Firearms Investigation, Dufferin Street and Steeles Avenue West area, Images Released”, published Friday, September 11, 2026 at 11:54 a.m., case 2026-1875019, issued by Corporate Communications for 32 Division. Source for the September 6 Person with a Gun call, the location, the four occupants and three masks, the two arrests inside the vehicle and two foot apprehensions, the seizure of two loaded prohibited firearms, the full charge sheets for Aisosa Osadebamwen, Nana Asamoh, Tafary Church and the 17-year-old male, and the September 7 bail appearances at 2201 Finch Avenue West in rooms 106 and 107.
  • The charge lists above are reproduced as published. The Toronto Police Service’s list for Osadebamwen repeats “Possess firearm without holding a licence” and “Use/handle/store firearm, etc. carelessly” as separate additional single counts after the multi-count entries; that duplication appears in the release itself and is reproduced here rather than corrected.
  • The reading of Osadebamwen’s doubled counts as indicating an allegation that one accused is answerable for both firearms is this briefing’s analysis of the charge structure. The Toronto Police Service does not state how the two firearms were distributed among the four accused, and no such statement is attributed to it. The same applies to the observation that the youth’s charge sheet carries no prohibition count.
  • No bail outcome is published for any of the four despite the release appearing four days after the hearings. No make, model, calibre or ammunition detail is published for either firearm. No vehicle description is published. No drugs, cash or other property are stated to have been seized.
  • The Toronto Police Service names no gang, street group, criminal organization or motorcycle club in this file. None is named or inferred in this briefing, and no profile page on this site is linked from it, because no organization covered by one has been named by police in connection with this file.
  • All four accused are presumed innocent. The 17-year-old male cannot be identified under section 110(1) of the Youth Criminal Justice Act. All allegations remain untested in court.

Previous BriefingTwelve Hours Passed Between the WhatsApp Messages and the Shots at Her House, and the Woman Now Charged With Extortion Is Accused Only of Supplying the Address: Calgary Police Put the Series at 51 Incidents and 19 Shootings (September 11, 2026)Next Briefing Seven Firearms Including a Sawed-Off .22, Three People Named Fayant, and a Crossbow: Manitoba RCMP Empty a River Road House in Swan River and Release Half of Those Charged the Same Day (Originally Reported September 10, 2026)

Get the briefing before anyone else

Canadian organized crime, every day — arrests, takedowns, court files and the networks behind them. Free, straight to your inbox.

Trending

Discover more from Gangland Files

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading