Seven Firearms Including a Sawed-Off .22, Three People Named Fayant, and a Crossbow: Manitoba RCMP Empty a River Road House in Swan River and Release Half of Those Charged the Same Day (Originally Reported September 10, 2026)
SWAN RIVER, Man. — This file was published by Manitoba RCMP on Wednesday, September 10, 2026 and is not a story that broke today. Six days earlier, on Friday, September 4, 2026, the Swan River RCMP General Investigation Section executed multiple search warrants at a residence in the 100-block of River Road in Swan River, following what the force describes as several complaints of drug trafficking at a residence within the community. Four people were located on the property and arrested without incident.
What came out of the house was seven firearms — one of them a sawed-off .22 rifle — three prescription pharmaceuticals, a small quantity of cocaine, two extendable batons, a crossbow, ammunition, scales and packaging material, and $545 in cash. That $545 is the only number in the entire release stated to the dollar or the gram. Nothing else was counted.
The Four Accused — All of Swan River
- Darryl Fayant, 64 — charged with possession of a firearm when knowing possession is unauthorized; possession for the purpose of trafficking; and failure to comply with an undertaking. Remanded into custody.
- Pamela Fayant, 42 — charged with possession of a firearm when knowing possession is unauthorized; possession for the purpose of trafficking; and failure to comply with an undertaking. Remanded into custody.
- Renee Fayant, 30 — charged with possession of a firearm when knowing possession is unauthorized and possession for the purpose of trafficking. Released on an undertaking.
- Ryan Rosteski, 51 — charged with possession of a firearm when knowing possession is unauthorized and possession for the purpose of trafficking. Released on an undertaking.
The relationship between the three Fayants is not stated anywhere in the release, and no court date is published for any of the four.
The Seizure — Exactly as Published
- Dilaudid, Gabapentin and Lorazepam tablets — no pill count, no weight, no value for any of the three.
- A small quantity of cocaine — no weight and no value.
- Seven firearms, including a sawed-off .22 rifle — only that one is described. No make, model, calibre, restriction class, registration status or condition for the other six, and no statement of whether any was loaded.
- Two extendable batons
- One crossbow
- Ammunition — no round count, no calibres.
- Drug paraphernalia, including scales and packaging materials — no counts.
- $545 in cash
One Firearm in Seven Is Described, and It Is the One That Matters
Six of the seven firearms in this file are anonymous. The seventh is a sawed-off .22 rifle, and the RCMP singled it out, which is not an accident of drafting. A rifle that has had its barrel or stock cut down below the statutory length ceases to be whatever it was and becomes a prohibited firearm under Canadian law — not restricted, prohibited. It is also, functionally, a rifle altered for the sole purpose of being concealed.
All four accused face the same firearms count: possession of a firearm when knowing possession is unauthorized. That charge speaks to the legal status of the guns rather than to their storage, and it was laid against every person on the property rather than against one. The RCMP does not say which firearm underlies which count, and no such allocation is asserted here.
Pharmaceuticals First, Cocaine Second
The order the RCMP lists the drugs in is itself informative. Dilaudid, Gabapentin and Lorazepam tablets come first; the cocaine is second and is explicitly qualified as a small quantity. This is a diverted-pharmaceutical file with a cocaine component, not the reverse.
Dilaudid is hydromorphone, a potent opioid, and it is the substance in that list with a serious diversion market. Gabapentin and Lorazepam are the substances commonly found alongside it. None of the three is weighted or counted in the release, which is the most significant omission in the document — a tablet count is the single number that would distinguish a household prescription holding from a supply operation, and it is absent for all three.
The $545 in cash points the same way the qualifier on the cocaine does. That is a modest figure for four people facing trafficking counts, and taken with the scales and packaging material it describes a point of sale rather than a point of supply. The RCMP characterises the scale of the operation nowhere, and no such characterisation is attributed to it.
Four District Resources for One House
The units the RCMP lists are disproportionate to a single residence, and that is the detail worth keeping. Swan River’s General Investigation Section executed the warrants, but it was assisted by the RCMP West District Crime Reduction Enforcement Support Team, by Manitoba West District GIS, and by Police Dog Services.
A detachment that expected a simple search does not bring in two district-level units and a dog. Multiple warrants executed simultaneously with that much support is the posture of a file built over time on repeated complaints rather than of a single tip acted on that morning. How long the investigation ran, when the complaints began, and how many there were is not published.
Two Remanded and Two Released, on Nearly Identical Charges
The custody split is clean and it tracks a single charge. Darryl Fayant and Pamela Fayant each carry a third count — failure to comply with an undertaking — and both were remanded. Renee Fayant and Ryan Rosteski carry only the firearms and trafficking counts, and both were released on undertakings the same day.
A breach count means the accused was already bound by a court-imposed undertaking at the time of the search, and a fresh breach is among the most reliable predictors of detention at a show-cause hearing. The release does not say what the earlier undertakings arose from, when they were imposed, or whether the two files are related, and no connection between them is asserted here.
What Is Not Reported
No occurrence, file or project number, and no operation name. No civic address beyond the 100-block of River Road. No time of day for the warrant execution. No count of how many warrants “multiple search warrants” means. No pill counts, weights or values for the Dilaudid, Gabapentin, Lorazepam or cocaine, and no total valuation for the seizure. No description of six of the seven firearms and no round count for the ammunition. No court date for any of the four. No relationship stated between the three Fayants. No start date, duration or complaint count for the investigation. No officer is named and no one is quoted — the release carries no contact block at all. Whether anyone else is being sought is not addressed.
The RCMP names no gang, street gang, criminal organization or motorcycle club in this file, and none is named here. This briefing carries it on the facts of the operation — a multi-accused, multi-warrant trafficking takedown with seven firearms including a prohibited one, run by a named investigative section with district-level support — and on nothing else.
Darryl Fayant, Pamela Fayant, Renee Fayant and Ryan Rosteski are each presumed innocent. Nothing described above has been tested in court.
100-Block of River Road — September 4 to September 10, 2026
Primary Sources
- Manitoba RCMP: “Swan River RCMP arrest four, seize drugs and weapons”, dateline September 10, 2026, Swan River, Manitoba. Source for the September 4 warrant execution in the 100-block of River Road, the several complaints of drug trafficking that preceded it, the four arrests without incident, the complete seizure list reproduced above, the charges and custody status for Darryl Fayant, Pamela Fayant, Renee Fayant and Ryan Rosteski, and the assisting units. The release carries a photograph captioned as firearms, weapons and drugs seized at a Swan River residence on Sept. 4.
- The release publishes no time of day, no file or occurrence number, no court dates, no officer name and no quotation of any kind, and the page carries no media contact block. Those absences are stated as absences throughout this briefing.
- The observation that a rifle cut down below the statutory length is a prohibited firearm in Canada is general legal background and is not attributed to the RCMP. The force does not state the legal classification of the sawed-off .22 rifle, does not say which firearm underlies which charge, and publishes no description of the other six firearms.
- The reading of the file as a diverted-pharmaceutical matter with a cocaine component, and of the $545 and the paraphernalia as describing a point of sale rather than a point of supply, is this briefing’s analysis of what the RCMP published and of what it did not. The force characterises the scale of the operation nowhere. The identification of Dilaudid as hydromorphone is general pharmacology and forms no part of any allegation.
- The reading of the custody split as tracking the failure-to-comply counts is likewise this briefing’s observation. The RCMP gives no reason for the remands or the releases, does not state what the earlier undertakings arose from, and does not say whether those files are related to this one. No connection between them is asserted here.
- The RCMP names no gang, street gang, criminal organization or motorcycle club in this file. None is named or inferred in this briefing, and no profile page on this site is linked from it, because no organization covered by one has been named by police in connection with this file.
- All four accused are presumed innocent and all allegations remain untested in court.