Firearms Seizure — Alberta

Seventy-Two Long Guns and a Crate of Ammunition Came Out of One Traffic Stop, and Three Weeks Later the Only Thing Published Is a Photograph: Cold Lake RCMP Name Nobody and List No Charge (September 7, 2026)

By: Gangland Files  |  Reported Monday, September 7, 2026  |  Seizure Occurred Mid-August 2026  |  Cold Lake, AB
72Long-Barrel Firearms
1Crate of Ammunition
~3 wksSeizure to Disclosure
0Names, Charges or Releases

COLD LAKE, ALTA. — Sometime in the middle of August 2026, RCMP in Cold Lake stopped a vehicle inside the city and took seventy‑two long‑barrel firearms and a crate of ammunition out of it. That is the entire public account. It became public on Monday, September 7, 2026, roughly three weeks later, in a report by Hannah Kavanagh of CTV News Edmonton built around a photograph credited to the RCMP. There is no name, no age, no hometown, no charge, no exact date, no unit, and no written release on the seizure in the Alberta division’s news feed.

Seventy‑two firearms is not an ordinary number. Rifles and shotguns are bulky — seventy‑two of them, plus a crate of ammunition, do not fit in a trunk. Whatever was stopped that day was moving a load, and a load of that size in a single vehicle is either a collection being transported, a theft being moved, or a supply being distributed. The RCMP has not said which.

What Is Actually on the Record

  • What was seized: 72 long‑barrel firearms and a crate of ammunition.
  • Where: Cold Lake, Alberta — the report specifies a traffic stop “in the city.” No street, no highway, no intersection.
  • When: the middle of August 2026. No day given.
  • Who seized it: Cold Lake RCMP. No detachment unit, no general investigation section, no provincial team named.
  • Accused: none identified. The report names no person, gives no age, no hometown and no gender, and does not state whether anybody was arrested at all.
  • Charges: none stated. The report does not say whether charges were laid, are pending, or were declined.
  • Provenance of the guns: not stated. Nothing indicates whether the firearms were stolen, trafficked, unlawfully possessed, restricted, prohibited, or lawfully owned and improperly transported.
  • Who reported it: Hannah Kavanagh, CTV News Edmonton, published Monday, September 7, 2026 at 2:47 p.m. EDT. The accompanying image is credited “(Source: RCMP),” indicating a handout.
  • Written release: none located. The Alberta RCMP news syndication feed, checked at time of filing, carried releases dated August 27 through September 4, 2026 and contained no Cold Lake firearms item.
  • ALERT: Alberta’s provincial organized crime unit is not named in the report and has published nothing matching this seizure.

A Handout Photograph Without a Handout

The image credit is the most informative thing in the file. “(Source: RCMP)” means the force supplied the picture — which means the force chose to make the seizure public, three weeks after it happened, and chose to do it by giving a broadcaster an image rather than by publishing a release under its own letterhead.

That is a distinction with consequences for anyone trying to follow the file. A release carries a file number, a detachment, a named media contact, an itemised list and, when charges exist, a charge sheet and a court date. A photograph carries a caption. There is no occurrence number to quote back, no unit to call, and no way to check in three months whether the matter went anywhere.

Nothing about that is necessarily irregular. Forces hold back detail while an investigation is live, and a firearms file with a large seizure and a Crown consultation pending is exactly the kind that gets held. But a three‑week gap between a seventy‑two‑gun seizure and any public word of it, closed by a photo caption rather than a release, is worth recording as it stands.

What This Briefing Is Not Saying

No criminal organization has been named by the RCMP in this file. No gang, no outlaw motorcycle club, no trafficking network. None is named here. Cold Lake sits near the Saskatchewan border on Highway 28, and firearms moving through the Prairies get written about as a pipeline as a matter of reflex; there is no basis in anything published to describe this seizure that way, and this briefing does not.

It is also not established that anyone committed an offence. No person has been named, no person has been charged so far as the public record shows, and it has not been stated that the firearms were unlawfully held. A seizure is not a conviction and, on this record, it is not yet even an allegation.

This briefing will be revisited if the Alberta RCMP publishes a release, names an accused, or lays a charge on this file, and any figure the force corrects will be corrected here.

Cold Lake — The Seventy-Two-Gun Traffic Stop

Mid-August 2026 — The StopCold Lake RCMP stop a vehicle in the city and seize 72 long-barrel firearms and a crate of ammunition. No exact date has been made public.
Aug. 27 – Sep. 4, 2026 — The Feed Runs Without ItThe Alberta RCMP news syndication feed publishes twenty releases across this span. None of them concerns this seizure.
Mon. Sep. 7, 2026, 2:47 p.m. EDT — The PhotographCTV News Edmonton publishes the seizure under Hannah Kavanagh’s byline, with an image credited to the RCMP. It is the first and only public account.
Status — No Name, No Charge, No File NumberNo accused identified, no charge stated, no arrest confirmed, no detachment unit named, no occurrence number, no statement on the provenance of the firearms and no criminal organization named.
Cold Lake RCMP
No Unit Identified
No Written Release
No Accused Named
No Charge Stated
No Organization Named

Primary Wire Sources

  • CTV News Edmonton: “72 long-barrel firearms seized in northern Alberta traffic stop”, by Hannah Kavanagh, published Monday, September 7, 2026 at 2:47 p.m. EDT. The count of 72 long-barrel firearms, the crate of ammunition, the traffic stop in Cold Lake and the mid-August timing were confirmed on that page. The image credit reads “(Source: RCMP).”
  • Alberta RCMP news syndication feed, checked at time of filing: twenty entries spanning August 27 through September 4, 2026, none of them concerning this seizure. No written RCMP release on the file could be located. If one is published, this briefing will be revisited so it can be folded in.
  • ALERT, Alberta’s provincial organized crime unit, has published nothing matching this seizure. Its most recent release at time of filing was dated August 14, 2026.
  • Two older Cold Lake firearms files surface high in searches for this story and are not it: a 2023 seizure of more than sixty firearms from a Cold Lake man following a road-rage incident, and an August 2026 interprovincial drug investigation involving handguns with a final arrest on August 5, 2026. Neither is referenced above.
  • No criminal organization has been named by the RCMP in this file, and none is named in this briefing. No person has been named or charged on the public record.

Previous BriefingTwo Shootings Inside Two Richmond Hill Homes in Twenty-Seven Hours, and York Regional Police Have Published a Written Release on Neither: a Man Is Shot at Yonge and Weldrick on Labour Day Morning and More Than One Suspect Walks Away (September 7, 2026)

Get the briefing before anyone else

Canadian organized crime, every day — arrests, takedowns, court files and the networks behind them. Free, straight to your inbox.

Trending

Discover more from Gangland Files

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading