Somebody Fired on a Commercial Property at Four in the Morning and the Only Thing Hit Was a Parked Car: Toronto Police Have Evidence of Gunfire at Warden and Lawrence, a Light-Coloured Vehicle and No Release At All (September 27, 2026)
Gunfire at four in the morning into a commercial yard, and what it hit was a car with nobody in it. Toronto police were called to Warden Avenue and Lawrence Avenue East in Scarborough at approximately 4 a.m. on Sunday, September 27, 2026. A parked vehicle at a commercial property had been damaged by gunfire. Nobody was hurt. Officers found evidence of gunfire at the scene, and police say the people responsible may have left in a light-coloured vehicle. That is the entire public account, nine and a half hours after the call and after one update: no number of suspects, no arrest, no casing count, no address, no case number, no division, no officer and no quotation.
A shooting with no victim is still a shooting, and this one was aimed at something
There is a category of file that police forces and the outlets covering them treat as the lowest tier of gun violence — shots fired, property damage, nobody injured — and it is the category in which the least is ever published. That is a poor fit for what actually happened here. Somebody discharged a firearm at a commercial property in the middle of the night. The rounds went somewhere specific: into a parked vehicle. Whether the vehicle was the target or the thing that happened to be in the way is not stated anywhere in the record, and it is the first question the file raises.
Nor is it stated what the commercial property is. Not the business name, not the civic address, not the trade, not whether the property has been shot at, burned or broken into before. On a beat where a shot-up business at four in the morning is frequently the visible end of an extortion demand, a debt, or a dispute between people who use commercial yards for something other than commerce, the absence of the address is the absence of the context. Warden and Lawrence is an intersection with industrial and commercial frontage on more than one corner, and the record does not narrow it further.
Evidence of gunfire, and no count of it
The reporting says officers located evidence of gunfire at the scene. That phrasing ordinarily means shell casings, strike marks, or both, and it is the phrase a force uses when it has confirmed a firearm was discharged rather than relying on a caller who heard a bang. But the record publishes no number: not how many casings were recovered, not how many strikes the vehicle took, not the calibre, not whether the casings were of one type or several. One casing and fifteen casings describe very different events, and the public account does not distinguish between them.
No firearm has been recovered and none is described. It is not stated whether the gunfire came from a vehicle or from someone on foot, whether anyone was present at the property at the time, whether the property carries cameras, or whether police have appealed for footage. Police have not said the shooting was targeted, and they have not said it was random. They have also not issued the reassurance a force normally offers after an overnight shooting with no arrest — whether there is any ongoing threat to anyone in the area.
The light-coloured vehicle is the whole of the description
The single investigative detail the force has released is that the suspects may have fled the area in a light-coloured vehicle. Both words in that phrase are doing heavy lifting. “Suspects” is plural, which is the only indication anywhere that more than one person was involved, and no number is given. “May have” concedes the force is not certain the vehicle is connected. “Light-coloured” is the least specific description a vehicle can be given: no make, no model, no body style, no plate, no damage, no direction of travel away from the intersection.
No description of any person has been released at all — not a count, not an age range, not clothing, not whether anyone was seen on foot. Nine and a half hours elapsed between the first publication of this story and its update, and the update added nothing to the description.
The force did publish on Sunday — about a different killing
The Toronto Police Service has issued no news release on this shooting. That is not because the force was silent on September 27: it published one item that day, timed 9:49 a.m. Eastern, under case number 2026-2032061, announcing an arrest in a homicide investigation in the Steeles Avenue West and Hilda Avenue area at the northern edge of the city. So the newsroom was staffed and publishing roughly six hours after the call to Warden and Lawrence, and this file did not make it onto the wire. The force’s news-release index, as it renders to a plain reader, carries nothing at all dated September 27, 2026; the homicide release surfaces only through the recent-items list embedded in other release pages.
What the reporting publishes — and what it does not
- Published: that Toronto police were called to Warden Avenue and Lawrence Avenue East in Scarborough at approximately 4 a.m. on Sunday, September 27, 2026; that gunfire damaged a parked vehicle at a commercial property; that no injuries were reported; that officers located evidence of gunfire at the scene; that the suspects may have fled the area in a light-coloured vehicle.
- Not published: the civic address or the name or trade of the commercial property; the owner of the vehicle struck; the number of shots fired, strikes to the vehicle or casings recovered; the calibre or any description of a firearm; whether a firearm was recovered; the number of suspects; any description of any person; the make, model, body style, plate or direction of travel of the light-coloured vehicle; whether the gunfire came from a vehicle or from someone on foot; whether anyone was at the property at the time; whether cameras exist or footage has been sought; whether police consider the shooting targeted; whether police say there is any threat to the public; the division or investigating unit; any case or occurrence number; any named officer or spokesperson; any quotation attributed to police; any tip line.
- No release: no Toronto Police Service release on this shooting has been located. The force’s only September 27 item at time of filing is an unrelated homicide-arrest release timed 9:49 a.m. Eastern, case 2026-2032061, Steeles Avenue West and Hilda Avenue area.
- Named organizations: none. No criminal organization, street gang or outlaw motorcycle club is named anywhere in the reporting, and police have offered no characterisation of the shooting.
Timeline
- September 27, 2026 — approximately 4 a.m. · Warden Avenue and Lawrence Avenue East, ScarboroughToronto police are called after gunfire damages a parked vehicle at a commercial property. Nobody is injured. Officers locate evidence of gunfire at the scene. Police say the suspects may have fled in a light-coloured vehicle.
- September 27, 2026 — 6:30 a.m. EasternCTV News Toronto and CP24 publish the file under Jermaine Wilson’s byline. No arrest, no case number, no suspect description beyond the colour of a car.
- September 27, 2026 — 9:49 a.m. EasternThe Toronto Police Service publishes its only news release of the day, on an unrelated homicide arrest in the Steeles Avenue West and Hilda Avenue area, case 2026-2032061. Nothing on the Warden and Lawrence shooting.
- September 27, 2026 — 1:34 p.m. EasternThe report is updated. No arrest, charge, casing count, address, case number or police quotation is added.
Responded to the call and has conduct of the investigation. No division is identified in the reporting, no investigating unit is named, no officer is named or quoted, no case number has been published and the force has issued no release on the shooting.
Sources
- Jermaine Wilson, “Gunfire damages parked vehicle at Scarborough commercial property,” CTV News Toronto, September 27, 2026, 6:30 a.m. Eastern, updated 1:34 p.m. Eastern — ctvnews.ca
- Jermaine Wilson, “Gunfire damages parked vehicle at Scarborough commercial property,” CP24, September 27, 2026, 6:30 a.m. Eastern, updated 1:34 p.m. Eastern — cp24.com
- Toronto Police Service news releases, checked September 27, 2026 — no release on this shooting; the force’s only September 27 item is a homicide arrest at Steeles Avenue West and Hilda Avenue, 9:49 a.m. Eastern, case 2026-2032061 — tps.ca
Where no police release exists the outlet is the primary source, and that is the case here. The Toronto Police Service newsroom will be re-checked on a later run so that any release, case number, casing count, suspect description, arrest or charge can be folded in. Police have not described this shooting as targeted and no criminal organization, street gang or outlaw motorcycle club has been named by police in connection with it; none is named here. No person has been arrested or charged, and nothing in this file has been tested in court.