Charges — Saskatchewan

The Call Was for an Injured Person, the Injury Was a Gunshot, and the Man Who Fired It Shot Himself While Taking the Gun Apart: Saskatoon Police Lay Seven Weapons Counts on Avenue S South and Itemise Not One of Them (September 18, 2026)

By: Gangland Files  |  Incident Friday, September 18, 2026, 5:30 a.m.  |  Released Friday, September 18, 2026, 11:02 a.m.  |  100 Block Avenue S South, Saskatoon
7Counts, None Itemised
0Names Published
5h32Call to Release
1Firearm, Undescribed

SASKATOON — Police were called at half past five in the morning to a house on Avenue S South for an injured person. The injured person had a gunshot wound. Nobody shot him. On the account the Saskatoon Police Service publishes, he was taking the firearm apart when it went off, and the gun that wounded him is now the basis of seven weapons-related charges against him. The force names neither the man nor a single one of the seven counts.

A Call That Was Not Reported as a Shooting

At approximately 5:30 a.m. on September 18, 2026, police were called to a residence in the 100 block of Avenue S South for a report of an injured person. The release does not say who called, or whether the call came from inside the residence. What officers found on arrival was a man suffering from a gunshot wound.

The distinction matters to how the file was first handled. This did not reach police as a shooting, a weapons complaint or a shots-fired call. It reached them as a medical problem, and the firearm surfaced only once officers were on scene. Paramedics transported the man to hospital for treatment of his injury.

The Sentence That Carries the Whole File

The Saskatoon Police Service devotes one sentence to what happened, and everything else in the release rests on it: “Further investigation found that the man had been attempting to break down the firearm when it discharged and injured him.”

Breaking down a firearm is the ordinary act of field-stripping it for cleaning or storage. On the published account the gun was loaded, or had a round in the chamber, at the moment he began. The force does not say so in terms, does not say what he was doing with the weapon or why, does not say whether anyone else was in the residence, and does not say how the sequence was established — whether from his own account at hospital, from the scene examination, or from both.

Seven Counts and Not One Section

The 27-year-old Saskatoon man is charged with seven weapons-related offences. That is the entirety of what is published about the charges. There is no list, no statutory section, and no indication of which offences the seven comprise.

What Seven Counts Would Ordinarily Require, and What Is Missing

  • No count is named. A reader cannot tell whether the seven include possession of a prohibited or restricted firearm, unauthorised possession, careless use or storage, possession contrary to an order, or any combination.
  • The firearm is not described: no type, no calibre, no make, no restricted or prohibited status, and no statement of whether it was loaded.
  • Nothing is published about ammunition, magazines, or any other item found in the residence.
  • The release does not say whether the man was already under a firearms prohibition — the single fact that would most readily account for a count total of seven off one gun.
  • No custody status, no bail or release outcome, no court date and no courthouse.
  • No injury severity beyond “his injury,” and no update on his condition.

Seven counts arising from a single firearm and a single accidental discharge is a high number, and a charge sheet that high normally reflects either a stacked storage-and-possession set or an accused who was not permitted to have the weapon in the first place. The Saskatoon Police Service publishes neither reading, and none is asserted here.

The Speed Is the Other Story

The incident occurred at about 5:30 a.m. and the release went out at 11:02 a.m. the same morning — five hours and thirty-two minutes. On this beat that is exceptionally fast. Forces routinely publish files days or weeks after the fact, and this site has covered several in the past week that ran to two and three weeks between the arrest and the announcement.

The trade-off is visible in the text. What the Saskatoon Police Service gained in speed it gave up in particulars: the release is four paragraphs long, carries an occurrence number and no name, and describes a seven-count charge sheet without describing a single charge.

What Is Still Not Reported

No name and no itemisation of the seven counts. No description of the firearm and no statement of whether it was loaded. No ammunition or additional seizure inventory. No account of who called 911 or who else was present. No statement of whether the accused was under a prohibition order or release conditions. No custody status, court date or courthouse. No injury severity or condition update. No investigating unit is identified and no officer is named or quoted. And no gang, criminal organization or outlaw motorcycle club is named anywhere in the release.

The occurrence number is 26-134980. These allegations have not been tested in court, and the accused — who is not named by police — is presumed innocent.

100 Block Avenue S South — September 18, 2026

Fri. Sep. 18, 2026 — About 5:30 a.m.Police are called to a residence in the 100 block of Avenue S South for a report of an injured person. The call is not reported to them as a shooting.

Fri. Sep. 18, 2026 — On ArrivalOfficers locate a man suffering from a gunshot wound. No time is published for the arrival itself.

Fri. Sep. 18, 2026 — The FindingFurther investigation establishes that the man had been attempting to break down the firearm when it discharged and injured him. How this was established is not published.

Fri. Sep. 18, 2026 — HospitalParamedics transport him to hospital for treatment. No severity and no condition update are given.

Fri. Sep. 18, 2026 — 11:02 a.m.The Saskatoon Police Service publishes the file under occurrence 26-134980, five hours and thirty-two minutes after the call, announcing seven weapons-related charges against a 27-year-old Saskatoon man it does not name.
Saskatoon Police Service
Saskatoon Paramedics
Investigating Unit Not Named

Primary Sources

  • Saskatoon Police Service: news release, “Discharged Firearm / Injured Person — 100 Block Avenue S South,” timestamped on the page September 18, 2026 11:02 AM. Publish date and time confirmed on the page itself. Source for the approximate 5:30 a.m. call on September 18, 2026 to a residence in the 100 block of Avenue S South for a report of an injured person; the location of a man suffering from a gunshot wound; the finding that he had been attempting to break down the firearm when it discharged and injured him; his transport to hospital by paramedics; the charging of a 27-year-old Saskatoon man with seven weapons-related offences; and occurrence number 26-134980.
  • The interval of five hours and thirty-two minutes between the approximate call time and the release timestamp is arithmetic on the two times published by the force.
  • The observations that no count is itemised, that the firearm is not described and is not said to have been loaded, that no prohibition order or release condition is mentioned, and that no custody status or court date appears, are absences on the face of the release, not findings by this site.
  • The general description of what “breaking down” a firearm means, and the observation that seven counts is a high total to arise from one weapon, are context. No characterisation of the accused’s record, prohibition status or intent is asserted here; the release publishes none, and the accused is not named by police.
  • The Saskatoon Police Service names no gang, criminal organization or outlaw motorcycle club in this release and makes no association allegation. None is named or inferred here, and no profile page on this site is linked, because no organization covered by one has been named by police in connection with this file.
  • These allegations have not been tested in court.

Share This Story
Facebook X Email
Previous BriefingThe Seizure List Runs Firearms, Ammunition, Currency and Large Quantities of Silver, and the Man Charged Was Released the Same Day With a Court Date Three Months Out: RCMP-RNC JFO West Takes Two Doors on Newfoundland’s West Coast and Names Chad Cassell, 44 (Originally Reported September 18, 2026)Next Briefing Seventy-One Vehicles Produced Forty-Two Counts, and Twenty-Three of Them Are for Attempting an Offence the Release Never Names: Peel Puts Andrea Cederberg, 33, of No Fixed Address on the Wanted List and Says Four Other Police Services May Be Holding the Same File (September 19, 2026)

Get the briefing before anyone else

Canadian organized crime, every day — arrests, takedowns, court files and the networks behind them. Free, straight to your inbox.

Trending

Discover more from Gangland Files

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading