The First Officers Found Nothing at All, and It Took a Resident Almost Six Hours Later to Find the Bullet Holes: Shots Fired on Rue Saint-Georges in Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue and the SPVM Has Published Nothing on It (September 18, 2026)
SAINTE-ANNE-DE-BELLEVUE — Somebody called 911 at a quarter to one on Friday morning to say shots had been fired on rue Saint-Georges, near rue Lamarche. Officers came out and found nothing — no impacts, no casings described, nothing to show for it. Five and three-quarter hours later a second caller reported bullet holes in a residential building at the same spot. Police went back and confirmed the damage was there.
Two Visits to the Same Address
The Service de police de la Ville de Montréal told CTV News it received a call at about 12:45 a.m. on Friday, September 18, 2026 reporting gunshots on rue Saint-Georges near rue Lamarche, in Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue at the western end of the island. Officers attended. The published account is blunt about what they found: they did not find any bullet impacts.
At about 6:30 a.m. a second 911 call came in, this one from a person who had found bullet holes on a residential building. Officers returned to the scene and confirmed the damage. The force says the investigation continues in order to determine what happened.
That is the whole of the public record. The original CTV report runs to five sentences; the French version carried by Noovo Info is a translation of the same five. There is no second reporter and no second source on this file.
The File as Published
- First call: about 12:45 a.m., Friday, September 18, 2026 — gunshots reported on rue Saint-Georges near rue Lamarche, Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue.
- First attendance: officers found no bullet impacts.
- Second call: about 6:30 a.m. — a person reports having found bullet holes on a residential building at the same location.
- Second attendance: officers returned and confirmed the damage.
- Status: investigation ongoing to determine what happened.
- Arrests: none reported.
- SPVM written release: none. The force’s communiqués page carries nothing on this file.
- Attribution: all of it indirect — “Montreal police told CTV News.” No spokesperson is named and there is no direct quotation anywhere in either version.
The Gap Is the Story
Five hours and forty-five minutes separate the report of gunfire from the confirmation that a building was hit. In that window the scene was, on the published account, an address police had already attended and left.
The reporting does not explain the gap. It does not say whether the first officers searched the building exteriors or only the street, whether it was dark, whether the impacts were high up or on a face not visible from the road, or whether the residents were home and awake. It does not say how many impacts there were or how many buildings were struck. Nor does it say whether the second caller lives in the building they found the holes in.
What the gap does establish is that the physical evidence on this file was found by a member of the public and not by the officers who were sent to look for it. That is on the record, and it is the one thing about this file that distinguishes it from any other shots-fired call on the island.
A Note on What This Briefing Will Not Say
Neither version of the report states whether anyone was injured. That is not the same as saying nobody was, and this site will not convert an absence into a fact. No injury is mentioned; no absence of injury is asserted either.
Likewise, the investigating unit is not stated anywhere in the reporting. Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue sits within an SPVM neighbourhood station’s territory, but which unit — station-level, or a specialised squad — holds this file has not been made public, and this briefing does not guess.
No Communique, and an Attribution With Nobody Behind It
The SPVM has published no written release on this file. Its communiqués page at time of filing is topped by the September 18 announcement of a six-suspect drug-network takedown in the Sud-Ouest, with earlier items running back through a jewellery-store robbery on September 14 and airbag thefts on September 10. Nothing on Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue.
Everything attributed to police here reached the public through a single phone call to a newsroom. There is no named spokesperson and there is no quotation to reproduce — only “Montreal police (SPVM) told CTV News.” That leaves no occurrence number to follow and no document to check the reporting against. This site will re-check the SPVM newsroom on a later run and fold in any release.
What Is Still Not Reported
No occurrence or file number. No civic address — only rue Saint-Georges near rue Lamarche. No count of shots fired. No count of bullet impacts and no statement of how many buildings were struck. No description of the building beyond “residential,” and no statement of whether it was occupied at the time. No suspect description, no vehicle description, no direction of flight. No casings described and no weapon type indicated. No arrest and no charge. No investigative unit. No spokesperson. No motive, and no statement of whether the two calls are believed by police to describe the same volley of gunfire.
No gang, criminal organization or outlaw motorcycle club has been named by the SPVM in connection with this file, and none is named here. No profile page on this site is linked, because police have connected no such organization to it.
Rue Saint-Georges — September 18, 2026
Primary Sources
- CTV News Montreal: “Shots fired in Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue Friday morning: Montreal police”, by Robin Della Corte, published Friday, September 18, 2026 at 1:48 p.m. EDT. Source for every fact in this briefing: the approximately 12:45 a.m. call reporting gunshots on Saint-Georges Street near Lamarche Street, the officers’ failure to find any bullet impacts on attending, the approximately 6:30 a.m. second 911 call from an individual reporting bullet holes on a residential building, the officers’ return and confirmation of the damage, and the statement that the investigation is ongoing to determine what happened.
- Noovo Info: « Des coups de feu ont été tirés à Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue », by Robin Della Corte, published 21 h 30, Friday, September 18, 2026. This is a French translation of the CTV report by the same reporter and adds no fact. It is cited here for completeness and is not treated by this site as an independent second source.
- No written SPVM communiqué exists on this file. This site read the SPVM communiqués index directly at time of filing; the most recent items were the September 18 Sud-Ouest drug-network takedown, a September 14 jewellery-store robbery, September 10 airbag thefts, the September 9 annual report and September 2 tool-theft networks. Nothing on Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue. The force’s information on this file was given to a newsroom by media relations only.
- Attribution in both versions is entirely indirect. No SPVM spokesperson is named and there is no direct quotation in either language. Nothing is presented on this page as a police quotation, because there is none to present.
- On injuries: neither version states that anyone was injured, and neither states that nobody was. This briefing records the absence rather than asserting either.
- On the investigating unit: not stated in the reporting. This site does not attribute a unit assignment to a source that did not make one.
- The observation that the physical evidence was located by a member of the public rather than by the attending officers, and the arithmetic of the five-hour-forty-five-minute interval between the two calls, are this site’s reading of the published times. The SPVM offers no explanation for the gap and none is asserted here.
- The observations that no occurrence number, civic address, shot count, impact count, building description, suspect or vehicle description, weapon type, unit or motive has been published are absences on the face of the reporting, not findings by this site.
- The SPVM names no gang, criminal organization or outlaw motorcycle club in this file. None is named or inferred here, and no profile page on this site is linked. That Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue is on the island of Montreal is geography, not a connection.
- No person has been arrested, named or charged. Nothing in this file has been tested in court.