Gangland Files

Inside Canada’s Criminal Underworld


Firearms — Toronto

Three of the Four Are Sixteen, the Stop Was for a Highway Traffic Act Violation, and the Charge Sheet Went Out Twenty-Six Hours After the Bail Hearing: Toronto Police Take a Loaded Regulated Firearm Out of a Car at Finch and Yorkgate at Half Past Four in the Morning (September 15, 2026)

By: Gangland Files  |  First Reported Tuesday, September 15, 2026 at 4:17 p.m. Eastern  |  Traffic Stop Monday, September 14, 2026 at Approximately 4:30 a.m.  |  Finch Avenue West and Yorkgate Boulevard  |  31 Division, North York, Toronto, Ontario  |  Case #2026-1932898
4Arrested
3Of Them Aged Sixteen
1Loaded Regulated Firearm
26Hours: Bail Hearing to Release

TORONTO — A Highway Traffic Act violation at half past four on a Monday morning put four people in custody and a loaded regulated firearm in a police property locker. Three of the four are sixteen years old. The Toronto Police Service published the charge sheet at 4:17 p.m. on Tuesday, September 15, 2026 — roughly twenty-six hours after the bail hearing it names had already been scheduled to begin, and roughly thirty-six hours after the stop itself. The release runs to a few lines, names one adult, describes the seizure as “the tools and a loaded firearm,” and offers no account of what the four were doing at that hour, where they were coming from, or what the break-in tools were.

What 31 Division does publish is enough to make the file worth recording: four people in one car at 4:30 a.m. with a loaded regulated firearm and a set of break-in instruments, at an intersection in the middle of one of Toronto’s most heavily policed stretches. No burglary is alleged. No stolen property is listed. Nobody is charged with an offence against any particular address. The accused are charged with having the tools, not with having used them.

The Charge Sheet, in Full

  • When: Monday, September 14, 2026, at approximately 4:30 a.m.
  • Where: the Finch Avenue West and Yorkgate Boulevard area, 31 Division.
  • How it started: 31 Division officers were on general patrol. The vehicle was stopped for a Highway Traffic Act violation.
  • What police allege was found: the accused were in possession of break and enter tools and a firearm. “The tools and a loaded firearm was seized.”
  • Kwabena Ameyaw, 18 — charged with Possess Break-in Instrument; Occupy Motor Vehicle with Firearm; Possess Firearm Without Holding a Licence; Possess Loaded Regulated Firearm; Careless Driving (Highway Traffic Act); Drive Motor Vehicle — No Valid Licence (Highway Traffic Act). Six counts in total, two of them provincial.
  • Three youths, 16, of Toronto — each charged with Possess Break-in Instrument; Occupy Motor Vehicle with Firearm; Possess Firearm Without Holding a Licence; Possess Loaded Regulated Firearm. Four counts each.
  • Court: all four scheduled for the Toronto Regional Bail Centre, 2201 Finch Avenue West, on Monday, September 14, 2026 at 2:00 p.m. — Ameyaw in room 403, the three youths in room 606.
  • Images: released with the charge sheet.
  • Not published: the make, type or calibre of the firearm; what the break-in tools were; the vehicle; which Highway Traffic Act violation prompted the stop; whether the car was stolen; bail outcomes; whether any of the four was under a firearms prohibition; any motive; any connection to another file.

Four Counts Each, and Three of Them Cannot Be Named

The three sixteen-year-olds carry identical charges: possess break-in instrument, occupy motor vehicle with firearm, possess firearm without holding a licence, possess loaded regulated firearm. The Youth Criminal Justice Act bars their identification, which is why the release describes them only by age and city. Their bail hearing was booked into a different courtroom from the adult’s — room 606 rather than room 403 — which is the ordinary consequence of youth and adult matters running on separate lists.

Ameyaw carries the same four counts plus the two provincial driving charges, careless driving and driving with no valid licence. Those two are the release’s only indication of who was behind the wheel. The narrative says “the accused was driving a vehicle” in the singular and then shifts to “the accused were in possession” in the plural; the service never states which of the four was the driver, but the driving charges sit on one name and one name only.

Occupy Motor Vehicle With Firearm

That charge is worth pausing on, because it is what a prosecutor reaches for when a gun is in a car with several people and the Crown cannot yet say whose hand it was in. It does not require proof that any particular occupant owned or carried the weapon — it requires knowledge that the firearm was there. It is, in other words, the charge that makes all four of them answerable for one gun.

Alongside it sits possess loaded regulated firearm, which is the fact the release does not dwell on but which does the most work here. The weapon was loaded. It was regulated — restricted or prohibited, in the ordinary usage — and none of the four is said to have held a licence for it. The service does not say what kind of gun it was, does not give a calibre, does not say whether it was a handgun, and does not say whether the serial number was defaced or whether it has been traced.

The Release Came Out After the Court Date It Announces

The stop was at approximately 4:30 a.m. on Monday. The bail hearing was scheduled for 2:00 p.m. that same day, about nine and a half hours later. The news release went up at 4:17 p.m. on Tuesday — roughly twenty-six hours after the hearing had been set to start and about thirty-six hours after the arrests. All three of those intervals are this briefing’s arithmetic; none is published by anyone.

The consequence is that the public account of this file arrived after the point at which its outcome was decided, and the release does not say what that outcome was. Whether Ameyaw or any of the three youths was released on bail, detained, or released on conditions is not in the record. Nor is any statement about whether any of them was already bound by a court order at the time of the stop — a question this beat asks routinely, and one the Toronto Police Service has not answered here.

Eleven Hours Later, on the Same Stretch of Finch

At approximately 3:34 p.m. that same Monday afternoon, about eleven hours after this stop and a short distance west along Finch Avenue West, a seventeen-year-old named Cashie Auguste was shot at Jane Street and Finch Avenue West and later died in hospital. That file is case 2026-1936774 and sits with the Homicide and Missing Persons Unit. This one is case 2026-1932898 and sits with 31 Division.

They are two occurrence numbers on two separate files, and no release and no outlet connects them. The proximity is noted here because both are on the public record and both happened within a single day on the same arterial; it is not offered as evidence of anything, and nothing in this briefing should be read as suggesting the two are related.

What Is Not Reported

The firearm is not described — no type, no calibre, no make, no statement on whether it was restricted or prohibited specifically, no serial number status, no trace result. The break-in tools are not itemised. The vehicle is not described and its ownership is not stated. The Highway Traffic Act violation that prompted the stop is not identified. No address, business or residence is named as a target. No stolen property is listed. No drugs, no cash and no ammunition count appear in the seizure. No bail outcome is given for any of the four. No officer or detective is named. No statement is made about whether any accused was under a firearms prohibition, a probation order or a release order. No motive is offered and no connection to any other file is asserted.

And no gang, street gang, criminal organization or outlaw motorcycle club has been named by the Toronto Police Service or by anyone else in connection with this file. None is named or implied here.

These are allegations. None of the charges against Kwabena Ameyaw or the three sixteen-year-olds has been tested in court, and all four are presumed innocent.

31 Division — Monday, September 14 to Tuesday, September 15, 2026

Mon. Sep. 14, 2026, Approximately 4:30 a.m. — General Patrol31 Division officers are on general patrol in the Finch Avenue West and Yorkgate Boulevard area.
Mon. Sep. 14, 2026, Moments Later — The StopA vehicle is stopped for a Highway Traffic Act violation. The violation itself is never identified in the release.
Mon. Sep. 14, 2026 — The SeizurePolice allege the occupants were in possession of break and enter tools and a firearm. The tools and a loaded firearm are seized. Four people are arrested.
Mon. Sep. 14, 2026, 2:00 p.m. — Bail CentreAll four are scheduled to appear at the Toronto Regional Bail Centre, 2201 Finch Avenue West — Kwabena Ameyaw, 18, in room 403; the three sixteen-year-olds in room 606. No outcome is published.
Mon. Sep. 14, 2026, Approximately 3:34 p.m. — A Separate FileAbout a kilometre west, Cashie Auguste, 17, is shot at Jane Street and Finch Avenue West and later dies in hospital. Case 2026-1936774. No connection to this file is asserted by anyone.
Tue. Sep. 15, 2026, 4:17 p.m. — The Charge SheetThe Toronto Police Service publishes under case 2026-1932898, naming Kwabena Ameyaw and describing three sixteen-year-olds. Images are released. The court date the release announces has already passed.
As of Publication — OutstandingNo firearm description, no itemised tools, no vehicle, no bail outcomes, no motive, and no statement on whether any accused was already bound by a court order.
Toronto Police Service
31 Division
Toronto Regional Bail Centre

Primary Sources

  • Toronto Police Service, “Arrests Made in a Firearm Investigation, Finch Avenue West and Yorkgate Boulevard Avenue area, Images Released”, release 66918, 31 Division, Case #2026-1932898, published Tuesday, September 15, 2026, 4:17 PM. Source for the 4:30 a.m. Monday time, the general patrol, the Highway Traffic Act stop, the allegation of break and enter tools and a firearm, the seizure of the tools and a loaded firearm, the identification of Kwabena Ameyaw, 18, the description of three youths aged 16 of Toronto, every charge listed above, and the Toronto Regional Bail Centre appearances at 2201 Finch Avenue West on Monday, September 14, 2026 at 2:00 p.m. in rooms 403 and 606.
  • The headline’s rendering of the intersection follows the release, which writes it as “Finch Avenue West and Yorkgate Boulevard Avenue area.” The duplicated thoroughfare designation is the service’s, not this briefing’s.
  • The intervals of roughly nine and a half hours from stop to scheduled bail hearing, roughly twenty-six hours from that hearing to publication, and roughly thirty-six hours from the arrests to publication, are all this briefing’s arithmetic. None is published by the Toronto Police Service.
  • The characterisation of occupy motor vehicle with firearm as a charge that does not require proof of which occupant carried the weapon is this briefing’s explanation of the offence, not a statement by the service or the Crown.
  • The inference that Kwabena Ameyaw was the driver rests on the fact that the two Highway Traffic Act charges appear only against his name. The Toronto Police Service does not state who was driving.
  • The September 14, 2026 homicide of Cashie Auguste, 17, at Jane Street and Finch Avenue West is Toronto Police Service release 66909, Homicide and Missing Persons Unit, Case #2026-1936774, published September 15, 2026 at 8:30 AM. No police release and no outlet connects that homicide to this firearm file. The two are set out together only because both occurrence numbers are public and both fall on the same day on the same arterial. No link is asserted.
  • No gang, street gang, criminal organization or outlaw motorcycle club has been named by anyone in connection with this file. None is named or implied here, and no profile page on this site is linked, because no organization covered by one has been named by police.
  • The three accused aged sixteen cannot be identified under the Youth Criminal Justice Act and are not identified here.
  • All charges are allegations that have not been tested in court. This briefing should be updated when bail outcomes or a first court date on the substantive charges reach the public record.

Share This Story
Facebook X Email
← Previous BriefingSeventeen Hours Passed Between the Shots and the Name, and the Name Is All the Release Contains: Cashie Auguste, 17, Is Toronto’s Twenty-Fourth Homicide of 2026, Shot in Daylight at Jane and Finch (September 15, 2026)Next Briefing →A Hundred and Seventy Charges Against Nine People, Not One of Whom Is Named, and Somewhere in the List Are Firearms Offences the Release Never Explains: Ottawa Police Say Crews Were Planting Trackers on SUVs in Driveways Before Stealing Them (September 15, 2026)

Get the briefing before anyone else

Canadian organized crime, every day — arrests, takedowns, court files and the networks behind them. Free, straight to your inbox.

Trending