Eight Warrants Across Two Towns and a GPS Tracker in the Evidence List: Lanark OPP Charge Two Ottawa Men After a Fourteen-Month Investigation Reaches Kanata (September 3, 2026)
The file took fourteen months to build and one Wednesday morning to execute. Lanark OPP say a drug trafficking investigation that started in a small Lanark County detachment in June 2025 ended in eight coordinated search warrants across two very different communities — a small town an hour west of Ottawa, and a suburb inside the capital itself.
According to Lanark OPP, the East Region Community Street Crime Unit began investigating suspected drug trafficking in the Lanark County area in June 2025. More than a year later, on Wednesday, August 26, 2026, officers executed eight search warrants at residences and vehicles in Carleton Place and at several addresses in Kanata — a westward jump of roughly forty kilometres, from a rural county seat to a planned community that sits inside Ottawa’s own borders.
A Multi-Unit Operation
The scale of the response is notable for a file that never generated a headline until charges were laid a week later. The operation involved members of numerous OPP units, working alongside the Ottawa Police Tactical Unit and Provincial Guns and Gangs — East Region. That combination of a rural OPP street crime unit, an urban tactical unit, and a provincial guns-and-gangs team on the same file suggests investigators saw a supply line running between the two locations, though police have not stated that explicitly in what they have released so far.
What Was Seized
- Approximately 677 grams of suspected cocaine
- A large quantity of suspected opioid pills
- Approximately 10 grams of suspected methamphetamine
- $18,555 in Canadian currency
- Four vehicles
- Jewellery
- Twelve cellphones
- Three digital scales
- A GPS tracker
The GPS tracker is the one item on that list that doesn’t explain itself. Police have not said whether it was used to monitor a vehicle, a shipment, or a person, and this file will not speculate on which. Twelve cellphones between two accused is a high enough count to suggest more than personal use, but that too is an inference, not something police have stated.
The Charges
Miguel Ortiz-Umana, 36, of Ottawa
- Possession of cocaine for the purpose of trafficking
- Possession of another drug for the purpose of trafficking — two counts
- Conspiracy to commit an indictable offence
- Possession of proceeds of property obtained by crime over $5,000
Harley Smith, 26, of Ottawa
- Possession of cocaine for the purpose of trafficking
- Possession of another drug for the purpose of trafficking
- Conspiracy to commit an indictable offence
- Possession of proceeds of property obtained by crime over $5,000
Ortiz-Umana was remanded in custody pending a bail hearing. Smith was released and is scheduled to appear before the Ontario Court of Justice in Perth on September 21, 2026. None of the charges against either man has been proven in court, and both are presumed innocent unless and until a court finds otherwise.
From First Tip to First Appearance
Standing of This File
What is verified. The June 2025 investigation start date, the August 26 warrant date, the two communities searched, the full seizure list, both accused and their complete charge lists, custody status, and the September 21 appearance date all come from Lanark OPP’s own account as reported by the Lanarkist.
What is missing. Police have not disclosed which of the eight addresses produced which items, what the GPS tracker was tracking, or what relationship — if any — connects Ortiz-Umana and Smith beyond the shared conspiracy charge. No estimated street value for the seizure has been published. No court date has been set for Ortiz-Umana’s bail hearing.
What is not claimed. That either accused belongs to any named criminal organization. Police have not used that language in what they have released, and none is used here.
When this will be updated. On any bail decision for Ortiz-Umana, on Smith’s September 21 appearance, or on any further charges arising from the same investigation.
Primary Sources
- The Lanarkist (Hollie Pratt-Campbell): “Two Ottawa residents charged after major drug investigation in Carleton Place, Kanata” (Published September 3, 2026, 3:14 p.m. ET). Opened and confirmed at source before publication of this briefing.



